VDux Haiku Contest Entry and Gameplay Video: Worms (Super Nintendo)

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Enemy worms here!
Drop that stick of dynamite...
First turn perfect win!

[More commentary forthcoming...]

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

The theme of the haiku contest was "Worms", and I remembered that it was a classic video game franchise, so I thought "Why not do a haiku based on one of the Worms games?" A little digging through my hard drive later, I found that I did have a file and an emulator to work with -- even better. Record some gameplay and write a haiku to tell the story of what happened. The end result was this quick video.

As for who were the other worms I put on the team...
wormlist.png

  • In the #2 slot, @vdux, as he is running the haiku contest.
  • In the #3 slot, @lordnigel -- creator and host of the Interactive Battle Tournament (or IBT) series of contests on Steemit. I help him out as the field judge there.
  • In the #4 slot, @limesoda -- for their great "Flappy Bird"-inspire game Hodl The Coin. I'm still trying to figure out when I can put together a block of time to try to record a 10k run attempt on that.

And as for the enemy team, I intentionally gave those worms names that reflected the kinds of undesirable folks that we don't want to see anywhere in the STEEM ecosystem (not just Steemit or Dlive).

Unfortunately, this game's initial release on the Super Nintendo was in 1996 and I have no clue as to why the developers thought that a worm who survived a 1-turn match could possibly be the most useless worm of the match. My apologies to @vdux for that undeserved title.

Thanks for the mention :)

I was most useless?

What's a worm gotta do?

I know, right? Apparently in this game, dying without being able to make a voluntary move was considered "better" than surviving with perfect health...

That's game AI in 1996 for ya.

Congratulations @doughtaker! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58