DLive Southern Utah Series #1 - Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

I'm introducing a new travel vlog series here on DLive. It's all the best places to go in Southern Utah. Utah is not a huge or small state but it certainly has many beautiful spots in it including many national parks. Since I have never been to Utah before this I'll be exploring it all for the first time and bringing you lovely Steemians along with me.

Thumbnail

My friend @toddhata and I decided to take this roadtrip from his house in Southern California. Utah is the 47th state the I have visited out of the 50 in the USA. We start by driving into the little town of Kanab near the border of Arizona which is a great base to see a lot of beautiful sites in the area. Just north of town is the Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park. Named because of the color of the sand that has formed dunes all in one area.

By the time we got there we only had time to get there by sunset but that's probably one of the best times to see this place because as the sun gets lower, the colors of the sand change from orange to pink and it's great for photos, of course, because golden hour.

vlcsnap-2018-06-17-18h55m48s623.jpg

The entry fee is $8 for a day pass per person. There is lots of space to explore and there are some tour companies that will take you out in dune buggies or dirt bikes for some adrenaline-pumping adventures which I wish I could have done but didn't have the time or the budget to do.

What I did do was climb the tallest dune I could find and try to capture the place with my camera which is very difficult to do in almost any place in Utah because only seeing it for yourself can you truly appreciate the beauty of the wild nature that makes it so wonderful. Oh, and I did a very graceful roll down the big dune and got very sandy.

vlcsnap-2018-06-17-18h57m39s910.jpg

Stay tuned for more from my Southern Utah series because there is some pretty epic stuff coming up.

Did you know there were sand dunes in Utah?

Music used:
Aura by Zivøn
https://soundcloud.com/zivonmusic
https://twitter.com/zivonmusic

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Great video Dave! The tumble down the dunes cracked me up. A little jealous of the 47 out of 50, ok, a lot jealous. Super cool! Cheers!

Thanks, Scott. It's 48 now that I've been to Oregon.

On a side note, have you watched this yet? You're mentioned.
https://steemit.com/steemsistershow/@coruscate/dsz43t3f

Oh what!?! Too cool! Going to watch that in a minute...

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Waoh, i've never heard of sand changing colors. Orange sand? Changing to pink? That's a kind of discovery for me because where i hail from, we have clay, sandy and loamy soil and their colors don't change. Thanks for sharing this information. The pictures are great too.

It looked really cool. Lighting affects the color.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=daveonarrival
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=57f4a7d0-84c7-11e8-adb2-bf4283a63cb9


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by daveonarrival from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I knew there were dunes in Idaho!

Are there? I'll have to check those out too.

We did a For 91 Days in Idaho - there is tuns of interesting nature stuff in ID.

Which states haven't you been to?

Now that I've been to Oregon, I only have Alaska and Hawaii to go to.

I really wish I could have shown you around Portland. Why didn't you go last year and contact me then?!!?? Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42