Mexico's National Pyrotechnic Festival - The World's Most INSANE Festival

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Greetings from Mexico. I find myself back in this country. It's the one I've been to the most outside of my own country of the United States.

I didn't expect to get up to a whole lot while in Mexico this time around because I wanted to work on building my Steem account and catching up on travel videos. Little did I know what Mexico had in store for me this time.

Thumbnail

Here's the backstory: I follow a bunch of travel Youtubers because that's the kind of content I like to watch. One of my favorites is Mike Corey. He recently changed his channel name to Fearless and Far, but when I met him it was Kick the Grind. I saw on his Instagram story that he'd be in Mexico City and attending a festival nearby so I emailed him and asked if I could join him. Long story short, he said yes.

The festival we went to is Mexico's National Pyrotechnic Festival, locally known as Feria Nacional de la Pirotecnia. It is a week-long festival that takes place every year in a town called Tultepec which is about a 50 minute drive north of Mexico City. People have been making fireworks in Tultepec for 150+ years since the materials required to produce gunpowder were all locally attainable. It is now considered Mexico's Capital of Fireworks. The festival is held in early March and each day of the week brings different explosive events to boost the local economy and celebrate their firework heritage. The main event happens on March 8th where they honor San Juan de Dios, the patron saint of fireworks, by parading giant papier-mache bulls (toritos) through the streets to be blown up in the town square.

vlcsnap-2018-06-25-22h53m59s387.png
One of the hundreds of bulls with fireworks attached and ready to be lit

vlcsnap-2018-06-25-22h59m39s065.png
I came prepared

Now, since Mexico is a no holds barred kind of country when it comes to celebrations, things get a little crazy. And by "a little" I mean HELLA CRAZY. As the bulls are being dashed through the square and blowing up with thousands of fireworks, anyone with a sense of crazy in them is allowed to get as close to the blazing hot action as they want. They run around and jump and try to brush off any fireworks that hit them before they get burned too badly. Alcohol influences many of these people so things do get dangerous when burning projectiles combine with poor decision-making and impaired motor skills.

Torito 2-2.jpg

Torito 1-2.jpg
People come to get burned

The insanity lasts all night and well into the early morning. Despite the danger, it is an incredibly unique and fun festival and I can confidently proclaim it as The World's Most Insane Festival.

ATTEND AT YOUR OWN RISK! And maybe bring fire-resistant clothing when you do.

Did you know that something like this existed? Would you jump into the fireworks with us?

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

20 SBD Up For Grabs in the TF Cup! - learn more about the contest here 👈

This indeed IS INSANE, but ow what a fantastic experience. I really don't know if I would jump into the fireworks, but I sure would take photographs from this festival as if my life depends on it ...

It's a fun challenge getting good photos there.

Def. my kind of festival - would love to go one day.

Haha, awesome. Mark your calendar.

Well that was just insane. I laugh at how lax the regulations are in some parts of the world. You'll lucky to be able to buy those sparkly firecracker things in Australia. Not that I think everything should be regulated. I'm more pointing out the differences.

Some states are like that too. Highly regulated for fireworks. Mexico is much different.

I 've heard about that festival from my friends and after I read your post now I wanna go there even more!

Cool! How'd your friends know about it?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by daveonarrival from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=daveonarrival
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=1b864a70-78f0-11e8-827c-49f76fdbeab3


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Omg..that's hella insane! Even that the video and the pictures you took are high quality and everything is so cool but the concept itself looks way too dangerous for me 😔

It's not for everybody but it certainly makes for great footage.

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @for91days to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55