Singing The Best Song in the World in Front of Hundreds of People! - Berlin, Germany

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Hey everybody! I'm continuing my Europe series with another video from Berlin. Click here to see my post for Base Flying in Berlin.

Berlin is a beautiful city with many different parks. Mauerpark is one of them. It means Wall Park, named so because of the Berlin Wall. Mauerpark is especially popular on Sundays, at least during the warmer months, because a big flea market sets up where people sell old household items, crafts, clothes, and food.

Thumbnail

Click photo above to view video

But something else happens right next to the flea market. They call it bearpit karaoke. Why? I haven't figured that one out. It's set up in a little amphitheater in the park. The main organizer and MC is from the UK, I think, and he brings the whole setup, computer and speakers every week onto the stage and people come to sing their favorite karaoke song or just watch others sing their hearts out.

vlcsnap-2018-05-12-13h12m54s785.png

The crazy thing about it is that this isn't your normal Western style karaoke where you are singing in a bar in front of just a couple dozen people. HUNDREDS of people show up to watch this bearpit karaoke! On this day I guesstimated it to be about 700. The place was standing room only. Who can blame them? It's just entertaining to watch others get up on stage and sometimes make fools of themselves to 'Nsync or absolutely nail every note in an Adele song. You never know what you'll get.

vlcsnap-2018-05-12-13h13m18s268.png

I was completely fine with just watching and observing this weekly ritual. But as more people got up to sing and were getting good responses from the crowd, the more I wanted to get up on that stage myself.

Ah, that's silly, I don't know any song well enough to be comfortable getting up in front of hundreds of strangers to sing...
But let me think harder. What would be a fun song that everyone would be entertained by that I wouldn't butcher and embarrass myself?...
This is hard. I should probably just let it be...
But it's an adventure!
Doh! Why does that have to win me over every time?
I'VE GOT IT! The perfect song...

I went up to ask the MC if he had the song I wanted. He said he did!... oh, boy. What have I done? Now I HAVE to go up. Chickening out would be worse at this point. I'm all in now, I'm just gonna accept it. LET'S DO THE THING!

The MC called me up and I'm kind of excited at this point. My song starts playing and getting a reaction from the crowd. Cheers, claps, whistles... So soon? I haven't even opened my mouth yet. I say the words, "This is the greatest and best song in the world." That gets an even BIGGER reaction from the crowd. I must say, this is going well.

I put as much emotion into the song as I could muster. I definitely did NOT hit every note and I didn't count on actually having to sing the portion of it where it's literally just straight gibberish. So I definitely just had to make up words on the spot. They LOVED it, though. They clapped and cheered at that portion even though I'm really bad at making up words.

vlcsnap-2018-05-12-13h14m19s467.png
Either me putting emotion in the song or feeling a bit constipated

The song ended and and the crowd goes wild.
yay. <-- that's the crowd

I felt pretty good and somewhat proud of myself after singing that. If there is a moral to this story, it's this: Don't be so afraid to make a fool of yourself. I made myself laugh and I'm quite sure many in the crowd were laughing too. I don't know if it was WITH me or AT me, though. People love to laugh and be entertained.

What do you think? Was this entertaining? Would you sing karaoke in front of hundreds of people?

Thanks to my friend Stefanie for being my camera girl.

Song:
Tribute by Tenacious D
source

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

What a cool experience! Glad I could finally hear your karaoke after I missed it in Vegas!

Haha. Yeah. Hope your ears are okay.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=daveonarrival
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=101d81e0-5603-11e8-8cf9-1b93be2e52ab


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58566.25
ETH 2542.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48