[Dlive]Turning food into 3D objects using Photogrammetry Live on Dlive

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Photogrammetry

Photogrammetry allows you to re-create real life objects in 3D easily, by taking a series of photos from different angles and letting the software translate 2D overlapping points into 3D information.

Sounds easy, but is it...?

In the previous episode I used my phone to take a series of photos of my workstation, dragged it in the RealityCapture software and managed to create a decent result in just a few moments:

not_bad.jpg

You can see the edges are a little jagged and blurry, but not bad for a first try!

Scanning food

As photogrammetry seems to be working better on smaller objects, I've decided to have a go at scanning food - a very difficult object to otherwise 3D model by hand. As usual, for the purpose of this demonstration I'll be using:

  • iPhone X
  • Reality Capture software
  • Zbrush for cleaning up

I hope you enjoy my stream and don't be afraid to drop any questions in the comment section! I'll be posting the results in comments, as well as in the upcoming photogrammetry posts!

Coming up:

    Far Cry 5 walkthrough

    More Steemit 3D Art

    Unreal Engine 4 game environment creation streams

    My live stream is at DLive

    Sort:  

    Scan looking good - time for cleanup!

    oo, does the resolution of the picture matter?

    it does, better camera, clearer the scan. For testing I'm just using my phone, but my company wants me to do some proper photograms of their cafe food, so I'll use better equipment

    oo okay, just curious, alright gtg, have fun streaming 🙌

    thanks man!

    are you using blender? wow, so many burger picture from 360 to make it work?

    Turn burger into 3D, seems legit hahaha. Have fun streaming

    Yea man, why not! Next time I can do Big Hug's burger :P

    This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

    To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

    Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.19
    TRX 0.15
    JST 0.029
    BTC 63744.49
    ETH 2639.10
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.77