Mini Vlog // Is All Advice Useless Without Self Awareness?

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Hi Friends!

I was having an interesting conversation with someone the other day and this topic came up. It seems like we as a society are always looking for the “How-to’s”.

How to lose weight

How to build passive income

How to have perfect skin

How to succeed on Steemit

As a few examples…

Just because one thing worked for someone else, doesn’t always mean you’ll have the results. We all have our own magic sauce that makes us unique – which means other’s advice often doesn’t help. Sometimes it can even hurt because it takes us down a path that we didn’t need to go down.

That’s where self-awareness is key. You can get advice from the most successful person in your area of interest, and follow it step-by-step and still be disappointed at the end. That’s why running every piece of advice through your gut check can save you lots of frustration down the road. Sometimes that gut check will come back with a resounding yes, and sometimes it just won’t quite fit with you.

As always in my mini-vlogs – I try to ask a thought provoking question that sparks discussion. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this below! I know I’ve been guilty of blindly following other’s advice, but as I have strengthened my gut – I’ve gotten clearer on what will work for me and what won’t.

I look forward to chatting with you below!

XO, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Completely understand where you are coming from Lea, I think that people can be open to change and take advice without self-awareness. I say that because I went through a long period of time where I didn't have it and still was open to someone else's perspective and experiences. True wisdom can resonate with us no matter what our state of consciousness and I trust that what I need to learn will be there for me and I have that same trust with everyone no matter where they are on their journey.
Either way, if someone asks advice I always give it not only because they asked but because you never know how what you say will affect someone, it might wake them up

So well put. I love your perspective that what you need to learn will be there for you at the right time. <3

Ironically enough, I love giving advice. I don't really call it advice though. I always tell people that i'm willing to share my opinion, but that's all it is - an opinion. :)

Great vlog @coruscate totally agree :) took a while to watch the video as it keeps stopping and starting maybe steemit is a little slow today. Keep up the awesome work on the platform you are doing so well :) #girlpower :P

Yeeees #girlpower!! haha Love it.

Sorry to hear the video was loading slow for you today. :( Sometimes I include a YouTube link as well - but for some reason I didn't on this video! Maybe I'll add one in just in case other people have issues.

On a random side note - I'm curious where you get inspiration for your song covers? Sometimes i'm overflowing with ideas, and other times I don't have any good songs come to mind. I only do covers every few days, so I'm always impressed at how much music you put out everyday! It's inspirational! Anyway, I was just curious.

yesss girl power hehe
Luckily alot of the songs i already knew as i have been doing live gigs since 16 so that definitely helped as i already knew most of them. However i ran out of the songs i knew afew weeks ago so now have to think of new songs etc lol but youtube defs helps with song idea's. I'm a big fan of "Boyce Avenue" a cover singer on Youtube i get some song idea's from him and the older songs i find out from mum (mums are good like that hehe) but my fav thing to do is find male songs and turn them into a female version.. and if i can't think of anything there is always Disney (I just saw the new trailer for the new Dumbo movie that looks so cool) Defs going to have to do a live cover of a song from there when it comes out :D . I hope you have a lovely day Xx

Oooh I love Boyce Avenue! His covers with Sarah Hyland are some of my favorites from him. I love that you get song inspiration from you mom too! That's so sweet. :)

Awesome point on Disney songs too... there is no end to the beautiful songs to choose from.

Thanks for taking the time to write this out! I was just super curious because I go in waives of inspiration sometimes. I hope you have a lovely weekend!!

Until a person is ready to change or make a decision they wont. Its unfortunate but the advice you give them maybe the turning point they need. Food for thought.

Thanks for adding to the conversation @mainos12345! Your right that someone has to be open to the feedback or advice in order to really internalize it. Respecting other's journey and understanding that they may not be ready for that can help.

Receiving advice is something that happens to individuals all the time. Sometimes even when you are not asking for it :). I alsway see it as a a tool given to you. You can use it as is, parts of it, or you can dispose it all together. It’s up to you!

Typically if I get a “five steps to succes”-type piece of advise, the fisrt thing I do (mostly without contiously thinking about it) is figuring out if its worth the effort. In some sense this means im deciding if it works for me.

Some pieces of advice at first seem logic and doable however turn out to not work for me. Then making alterations can help until it does work. I guess at that point it’s time to pass on my own version to the next person seeking advise :)

This is quite an interesting topic, thanks for bringing it up!

Off course yes... U r telling the truth. Feel very motivational by your guidance... Keep guiding us whole life. Somebody some where get motivated & get his or her life's most presious thing. Feel proud that You will be the reason to spread positivity in everybody's life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82