18 Years Old Singing About Being 8 Years Old

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

One of the things about being a public artist as long I have (beginning performing and recording at 14 years old in 1992) is that, for better or worse, I have a public document of every fear, thought or hope that crossed my mind.

In 1996 I was 18 years old and beginning to grasp that my childhood had officially ended. One night at a party I encountered my childhood crush, and the creative wheels started spinning.

This is a performance from a legendary Australian music tv show called "Recovery".

Special times.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

I was 18 in 96 too. Forty any day now.
My son is 8, but I don't think he has a girlfriend.
So what happened? Did you date her?

Got stoned with her at a party. The rest was my imagination.

That's great Ben. Yes, I guess it could be a double edged sword having your developing years documented in such detail! I wondered if there's songs from your past now that you no longer want to sing?

Your voice hasn't changed all that much over the years :-)

That's interesting. Some artists love their seminal work, like Bon Jovi's livin' on a prayer let's say. But to have to perform, with gusto & enthusiasm, a song that you wrote 20 or 30 years ago.... People change, life changes us, but it's almost an unbreakable link to your past as a musician. I remember Radiohead talking about 'Creep', which was probably their break through song. Thom Yorke hated that song! And if you know Radioheads work it is so different to most of their music. They are a band who keep developing and pushing forward, and I guess then your fan base changes if your genre and style keep changing.... So you risk alienating your fans if you don't recognise your back albums.... But we must stay true to ourselves as well :-)

Good music good voice, i enjoy a lot thanks for that.....
Greetings and success

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

1992??? I was at Deakin Uni in Geelong... going off to the pub crawl.
Man, you have come a long way @benleemusic - R.E.S.P.E.C.T

Great that you had the temperament (as well as the undoubted talent) to be able to perform to such a big audience, and you look (seem) so casual about it too. Lovely track and performance.

Congratulations @benleemusic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Oh hey, you're that Ben Lee! It's funny, I didn't make the association here on Steemit. I remember seeing you at the Rooftop RRR years and years ago - i think we'd won tickets. I thought you were pretty great! I wondered what you were up to these days. Great to see you xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54