Some Thoughts on Kanye West...

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Its been a big couple weeks of controversy for Kanye. Here I share some thoughts on his possible intentions, his methods and why some artists are deliberately provocative...

xx
@benleemusic

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

It's interesting, when you start thinking about personal agency.
By suggesting a victim has a choice, you strip them, at least partially, of their victimhood while empowering them with the authority to change their outcome.
Which way best supports them?
Thinking of domestic violence for example.
If you tell a victim that they're not to blame, that none of it is their fault, you also tell them they're powerless.
(Authority and responsibility going hand in hand)
If the abuser maintains control by convincing the victim that they're powerless, and those trying to rescue the victim inadvertently reinforce that sentiment, they may be doing more harm than good.

My feeling is that Kanye misunderstands the concept of "not being a victim". This doesn't always guarantee you a peaceful, happy and free life - it often just means that you accept responsibility for your personal agency throughout your suffering. You dont spend years obsessed with "blame", rather you focus on what you can build and change for today and tomorrow. Many people suffer terribly but do not become "victims". To assume that suffering and hardship disappears when you stop being a victim is not positive thinking, its magical thinking.

Such a juicy conversation @benleemusic...
I was just posting my Steemit post for the day today, and it was inspired by the Sex Pistols. ;)

It reminds me of my first debut into the "spiritual" world, feeling I understood everything from the Law of Attraction through to the cosmic frequencies of existence and how they weave together. It really felt like I knew everything, so much so that I became deaf to the feelings and essence of what it is to just be human and experience it all.

I would find myself preaching, much like Kanya, albeit somewhat less courageous in my delivery, in an attempt to force people into taking self-responsibility and accountability for their lives. Ironically I later realised that all my efforts were in themselves a projection of that very same self-responsibility out onto my audience... after all, was not my efforts really a selfish goal to create peace so my own life could be easier and escape the discomfort? :cp

I have since found great depth in my daily life through the art of truly listening, without concern for response. I have come to know my family and loved ones so much deeper in letting go of the idea that I think I know them at all, but rather just receive them each day as they appear.

Nothing like a bit of provocation to put cracks in the walls of social dogma, but I agree wholeheartedly in your beautiful sharing here, that by continuing to push reactions without truly listening, is a recipe for suffering on all sides.

Thank you for bringing this up and supporting the conversation! Here's to more compassion and respect... :D

Ha yes I have been there too. The evangelist who knows what everyone else needs to do to wake up, but can't get their own laundry done ;)

I really liked your video and the way you express yourself with that calm and that very particular peace, congratulations for that, and it is true that the rapper Kanye West is going through some cultural battles

I hope you make more videos so from other artists I will be attentive to your content

Congratulations @benleemusic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I think this current situation involving Kanye really highlights the dissonance between the left and right side of politics, and those that align with one of each (or closely associated in the centre). Kanye in many ways by wearing a MAGA cap, my publicly saying nice things about Donald Trump, and his revent comments on slavery highlight just how unbalanced things have become. No longer is it just a matter of political choice, it has become an us versus them mentality.

That's the thing people need to understand, Kanye's words are his opinions. It's not like Kanye is forcing people to like Trump and he's not excluding people who voted for Hillary from participating in the conversation, buying his music or coming to his shows.

I think he knows what he is doing though. The age old adage of: any publicity is good publicity. Well, we're talking about Kanye now, so I would argue that the strategy works somewhat. Have you noticed the most vocal outspoken critics are predominately musicians? And in one case, threats against Kanye's life have been thrown.

I hope Kanye has increased his security, because I am legitimately concerned about his life. These anti-trumpers are scarier than some of the alleged right wing organisations we keep hearing about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83