Flag Rewards Dev Video Update August 5th, 2018: Playing Around with LightSteem!

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

@emrebeyler just realeased a new Python client for Steem and hit me up about it.

Decided to give it a go and start playing around and also evaluate if this will be a go candidate for the FAW code rewrite. I was able to get the posts for the @gcalex CircleJerk campaign and later got the votes. In case you didn't know, @flagawhale is pretty much a grassroots project that is intended to address whale abuse such as collusive voting for example. We get a lot of support from @fulltimegeek and friends so I do what I can to support. Tackling excessive blockchain greed has become a bit of a pet project of mine. We have been successful in the Circlejerk campaign as you may note from accounts @jehfray and @tybodish. Unfortunately, due to Steem Python issues, my hand has been forced to rewrite the code for an alternate library. I dumped a LOT of time into the old code so it was a bit disheartening but the silver lining is this will be an opportunity to make it even better.

One difference noted when pulling notes (Not included in the vid) is the timestamp value is a different format. Not sure if this will be trivial for the code rewrite or not but I do plan on using that value to determine whether or not the vote was cast within the timeframe the flag rewards campaign was active. Steem-Python as I recall did not have either reputation or time values when pulling active votes so this is a plus for both beem and lightspeed.

I will likely employ a combination of the two depending on performance but will need to work to establish those metrics. I do need to get the code up and running so optimization may come later. All in all, I am excited for the prospects that lightsteem holds.

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@emrebeyler/introducing-lightsteem-a-thin-python-client-for-steem

Oh, I also go off on a bit of a tangent about whale and voting abuse. You know me. 😉

P.S. The song I used in the beginning is "La Mer Des Possibilités" by Le Matos. Thought it sounded kind of cool. I misjudged the span of "white space" (video w/no audio) I had to cover so apologize if the looping is annoying.

My video is at DLive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77