My Two Cents on the Rounding Down of Votes

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Today I have to share an important message regarding comment/ post payouts.

This is mainly geared towards newer Steemians, and Plankton and Minnows that vote with $0.01.

My friend @eonwarped shared this post by @timcliff with me this morning, and while it covers a lot of opinions and information on various aspects of upvoting content and how to not reward spam, which I will not get into here, I was very surprised to learn one thing.

Comments and posts awarded less than $0.02 receive no payout. The amount is rounded down to $0 at post payout.


Currently if a post/comment earns 0.001 to 0.019 SBD worth of rewards - this is rounded down to 0.00. If a post/comment earns at least 0.02 SBD - then they receive their reward.
-@timcliff

This is a big deal that I don't think a lot of Steemians know, especially not plankton like myself.

This affects how we should be voting if we want others to receive any payout from our votes.

As I appreciate that people take the time to read and watch what I have to share, currently I try to respond to and upvote every non spam comment on my posts with 10% vp which equals $0.01...

Or so I thought. It's actually not rewarding them at all unless their comment is upvoted by someone else too, raising it over $0.02.

In my case I'm actually "wasting" my voting power giving out ten 10% votes on comments which could be used to give out one 10 cent upvote (or five $0.02 votes etc)

Going forward I will keep this in mind when upvoting comments and always make sure it's set to 0.02 or over.

If your vote is less than $0.02, still vote as you please of course, but keep in mind that there will be no payout unless the post receives more votes.

A fellow Helpienaut suggested using @tipu to maximize their plankton vote, which others could look into as an option to reward content with more than you are able to on your own.

Did you know about this rounding down of 0.01 cent votes?

Will you change your voting strategy in the future?

Do you have more info regarding this subject?

Please let me know in the comments below.

Take care,
@amymya

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Thanks for the info @amymyaI had no idea. Granted, I've been pretty pre-occupied with offline things and have missed a lot, but I doubt I would've figured this out were it not for you. Sounds pretty shitty to me. Way to make it even harder for plankton to grow. :(

I'm lucky to have learned and happy to be sharing! I really had no clue and it totally baffled me. Trying to spread my votes to as many worthy Steemians as I can was voting comments at 1 cent for quite awhile, now I know better and will do better. All we can do really.
I do feel bad for those that cant adjust their votes though, this rounding down does seem like people will have to rely on the higher ups even more to get a footing in the Steemiverse.
Thank you for your comment Zippy <3

Thank you for the information.😊

You're welcome :)

Hi amymya,

Did not know this. So, I will keep in mind when upvoting to vote with at least .02 like I did here when upvoted your post.

Yeah I think a lot of people didn't know...

Woah I didn’t know that! Thanks!!

You're welcome!

I never knew that. That is a really big deal. Good to know. Thanks for sharing

You're welcome!

This is an important information. Thanks for sharing. I would like this to be different because my vote is usually 0.001.

Keep on growing :) and remember the little votes add up!

Good to know. I had no idea. That is kinda crap, because it's basically saying screw you peasants. Lol

I know that's a bit how I felt too :(

Thank you for this. My 100% vote is only worth $.02, but I usually only vote at 40%. This is very important.

You're welcome :) Make these votes count.

Damn! I didn't know this, either. Thanks for the heads up!

You're welcome! Its weird news isn't it!

Wow, this sucks, I forgot for a second that a comment is also a post, so... this is kinda abusing for poor minnows :s

Yeah it's not the best news I've heard!

Even worse for those whose vote at 100% is worth barely 0.01 T_T
Better times will I come, I still belive We are the early adopters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77