Turning A Lawn Into A Garden, Part One

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Hey Everyone!

For Earth Day 2018 I decided to start a garden in a new area that was previously a patch of wild lawn.

Initially I intended to do the lasagna method here, but I am going to reserve my lasagna supplies for another area and do these two rows traditionally.

In this video I remove clumps of grass, roots, rocks, and debris, and get the chickens to help out with some tilling, to form two large garden rows.

This is part one of 'Turning A Lawn Into A Garden', next we will be doing a soil test and amending if needed.

Join me in this effort to #GrowFoodNotLawns!

Take Care,
@AmyMya

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

A lot of work, but really rewarding
Following you and your gardening adventures with the chickens ;)
I hope one day to have my chickens pets :)

I hope you do one day too! I love mine <3

Great job, keep it up :) Curious to see what you are planting.

Thank you! I'm planning mostly squash up here, they like to sprawl and the ground is too rocking still for root crops.

That was an enjoyable video! It's fun watching the chickens scratching for bugs and worms in the freshly dug dirt. I haven't had chickens in about 20 years because I live in town, and they're not allowed here. It would be nice to have a few again.

They are so sweet, I really do live thier personalities. One especially, Queenie, loves it when I garden and is always right up in my face to get the juiciest worms haha

I will wait the next video

Its up! I am overeager sometimes haha

Nice spot for a garden. I look forward to seeing how it turns out. The time lapse effect was cool and thanks for using my tunes. Happy Earth Year :)

Thank you for making lovely tunes for me to use <3 Happy Earth to you too!

You have done amazing job with this garden. I love it!

Thanks! This is just the start :)

You keep it real Amy and that's what I like. Awesome video like always and glad to have you on the platform.

Thank you @cheech-oz, I appreciate your support and I am very happy to be here :)

Nice vid, Amy! I love how the chickens got stuck in to help too.

SIGNATURE.png

Thanks Anj <3 They are wonderful helpers, for now...

Looks like you gave yourself a time-consuming job to do. Good luck, I’m already curious to see the next update

Oh yes, I def have lots and lots to do!

Beautiful video Amy... Can't wait to see more of this process so i can make my own garden, soon as possible :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51