A glimpse of my first blockchain summit

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Happy Saturday

Today I am gonna share with you my experience with the first event related to blockchain and cryptocurrency. Couple weeks ago I was in Dubai visiting my best friend and when we were returning home from Dubai Mall, it popped into my eyes an ad regarding the next day event, called FUTURE BLOCKCHAIN SUMMIT. What were the chances really?! I did not know about this event until I saw the ad, I got so excited and as soon as I got home I start digging more into it and register me as a visitor.
FUTURE BLOCKCHAIN SUMMIT was held between 02-03.05.2018 and I had my flight back home on 03.05.2018, I guess I am pretty lucky.

It was the first edition of this event and it's clear one of the best moment to be involved in this new blockchain technology (Blockchain market would value more than $300 billion in two years) and apparently everyone from UAE, DUBAI knows that.
I don't know if you know, but last November CNNBC called Dubai the * World Capital of Blockchain*. They had a strategy regarding this technology since 2016. Now the launched THE UAE BLOCKCHAIN STRATEGY 2021 which has the following main goal:

Until 2021, 50% of government transactions will adopt the blockchain platform, which will save more than 3$ billion.

I was pleased to find out that the government is not against this technology but moreover is so involved and conscious by its potential. Smart Dubai is the government entity mandated to collaborate with the private sector and government partners to empower, promote and deliver an efficient seamless, safe and impactful city experience for residents and visitors. You can find more here

As I found out just a day before the summit, I went there just as a visitor. I had two options:

  • free admission for the exhibition and some workshops who took place at the Content Lab, Za'abeel Hall4.
  • or paid access to the exhibition and conferences.
    Conference 2 day pass AED 4500
    Conference 1 day pass AED 2250

The event was organized at Dubai World Trade Centre. It was also convenient to go by public transportation, meaning:

  • metro but it was fifteen minutes walk from The World Trade Center metro station.
  • bus. Check up here

A couple of days after the summit, I received the following text message: Thank you for being part of Future Blockchain Summit. Next year we're on for another exciting edition 3-4 Apr 2019, pre-reg now bit.ly/2EjXpNu OPTOUT3707

So they already started preparing for the next year summit. Impressive.

There were more than 70 companies (77), including ORACLE, IBM and MICROSOFT BUT ALSO START-UPS, promoting themselves and the use of the blockchain.

I participated in some workshops and found out about some great projects such as Alissia, Gig Trick, The Scalable CFO and much more. It was definitely a knowledgeable experience for me.

I am so confused because a few days ago I read this articlewhere Bill Gates said this "I would short it if there was an easy way to do it." abut BITCOIN, but Microsoft is currently using this tech, you can read more about Microsoft Azure here

It would have been more than an amazing day if there were some steemians or someone from Steemit INC, but I am sure there will be more opportunities in the future.

Never have I seen a technology with greater potential for humanity.
Don & Alex Tapscott

For more, check up their website:
https://www.futureblockchainsummit.com

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

As I see, UAE is a forward-minded country while my country has still prejudices and distrusts about blockchain.. But UAE are even planning to save their money with this way.. I am sure in the following years every country will be like them but the ones who accept and apply it, will be in the front always..

I hope every other country will catch up

Bravo Alexandra!
I never had the chance so far to attend a blockchain summit despite the fact that i will really love to be part of one and listen to all the interesting topics.
I bet it was a great experience...

It was great, you should look online, maybe you will find somewhere during your travels.

Once you start digging into the tech, it opens your mind to a whole new world of possibilities. Blockchain is really gonna shake up nearly every industry, and we are just at the beginning!

Lucky girl! Thanks for sharing this beautiful place with us.
Would love to travel to Dubai one day.

I am sure you will go there with your boys.

Great idea to attend such summit!! I think it has been very useful...

It was great. Thanks for passing by.

this is such a cool experience.. glad u get to attend it! enjoy japan.

Yes, blockchain means decentralisation. It will take time but it will be part of our future for sure. You shared a nice experience with us! Thanks! Good video too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54