Why 'John Carter' of Mars is the original Star Wars film

in #dlike6 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

Star Wars was a lot of things. But originality was never its strong point. In fact Star Wars could be the biggest ripoff franchise ever that made it to the mainstream (with the exception of parodies). That's why I don't like to see anyone taking about Star Wars as something original. I'm yet to get into Barsoom series. 

I did enjoy reading some of the Tarzan books and enjoyed them.So I might get into the other works of Edgar Rice Burroughs eventually.

 

In other words, most of the best elements of Edgar Rice Burroughs' Mars fantasies had already been "borrowed" for George Lucas' space saga, and just because the film was dismissed by many people, the source material cannot be so easily rejected. Lucas made no bones about how he was inspired by Rice's work and said in 1977 “Originally, I wanted to make a Flash Gordon movie, with all the trimmings, but I couldn’t obtain all the rights.So I began researching and found where (Flash Gordon creator) Alex Raymond got his idea: The works of Edgar Rice, especially his John Carter series of books." Indeed, the first draft of the Star Wars follow up, The Empire Strikes Back was written by science fiction author Leigh Bracket.She was quoted as saying: “I was introduced to Edgar Rice Burroughs at a very young age . . . That changed the course of my life . . . My fascination for Mars came from the fascination for his Mars.” 

Sort:  

wow amazing the great storry of the princess
such agreat post thanks for sharing such agreat post thank you so much
have anice day

Hi
That was an amazing history lesson and I never heard of this connection between Star Wars and the Japanese movies. Life is indeed stranger then fiction😂🤣😊
Thanks for the enjoyable post. I now follow you and look forward to your next post.
@SS
🚂

Interesting, I thought Star Wars was based on/ inspired by Kurosawa's The Hidden Fortress (1958) with its location changed to space.

Ever seen The Hidden Fortress?

Akira Kurosawa made this commercial and accessible film as a way to repay Toho Studios for allowing him to make riskier, more artistic fare such as Às Portas do Inferno (1950). It was later one of the greatest inspirations for George Lucas' Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope (1977).

Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43