Visiting Wat Pho (10 quick facts)

in #dlike5 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

  • It's been just over a week since I took my ex-colleague and her aunt on a packed day of sightseeing. Reflecting on it today, it could have been my last sightseeing gig/tour guiding for friends and family for awhile. Ever since I came back to Thailand with Becca in January 2017, we had the pleasure of showing her friends and family as well as a couple of my friends around Bangkok. By the time Becca's aunt came to Thailand last month, Becca did not need my help at all in showing her around Bangkok. I guess what I am trying to say, is that you have to embrace where you live and get comfortable. It's your home now and when you move away, it will always be....home.

    10 quick facts about Wat Pho:

    - Buddhist temple (Wat = Temple)
  • - Also known as Wat Phra Chetuphon
  • - Just celebrated it's 230th anniversary (built 1788 and has been restored many times)
  • - Home to the Reclining Buddha (46 metres long Buddha statue and covered in golden leaf)
  • - Open 08:00-17:00
  • - Like any religious place, make sure to wear clothes that cover the shoulders and goes below the knee. Remember to be respectful and follow the rules. It is better to wear easy fitting shoes as not only would you be walking around a lot, but you will need to take off your shoes when entering a temple. There quite a few inside Wat Pho itself.
    - Costs 100 baht for tourist (get a free small water bottle voucher) and free for Thais (upon showing ID)
  • - 200-400 baht for a local guide (depending on length of tour and amount of people)
    - It is the birth place of traditional Thai massage and you can get one of the best traditional Thai massages here.
    - Close to other touristic sites: opposite the Grand Palace and near the Chao Phraya river


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

This is so resourceful! More of this!!!! ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks Linda and Kris! Yea still trying to kick out my laziness to get these facts about our recent trip to Vietnam out on a post.
Hear you are coming back to Thailand tomorrow, safe flight over! ❤️✈️

Sammmmm, @teamsteem is here and we're planning on having a Steemit meet up tomorrow. Tried to contact you on WhatsApp but couldn't get a hold. Hit me uppppppp!!!!

Hey Mo! I'm glad to hear @teamsteem made it to Bangkok safely. Today, I have some plans with the family for lunch, but also continuing with my revision. Last written exam on Sunday morning, so focusing on that. Is it possible to organise another meetup for Sunday afternoon/evening? Let me know! 😊

Yeah,just get on WhatsApp 🙈🙈🙈🙈

Wow! Man! Just seeing Buddha statues makes me miss Thailand.

Awesome pic.

Winny out... for now 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cheers Winny! Should have taken more snaps, but was like "I've been here before... I don't need to take photos like these tourists". Yet, it's still a beautiful sight, so why not?

Why don't you come back and visit? Thailand misses you too 😊

One day I’ll be there again man! For damn sure! Just don’t know when yet LOL.

Winny out... for now 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87