How Cyprus Is Becoming the Next Blockchain Hotspot

in #dlike6 years ago (edited)

share-with-dlike.jpg

"Another Mediterranean island is conquering the world of blockchain".

Cyprus, already a prime location for the fintech industry, has growing support from government and entrepreneurs for blockchain technology, and in December 2018, was one of several EU member states that signed a declaration with the goal of collaborating on the promotion of blockchain application and distributed ledger technologies.

The University of Nicosia offers the first certified online course (MOOC) for blockchain technology and the world’s first master’s degree for digital currencies. More than 25,000 students have taken the MOOC and over 500 students have enrolled in the MSc in digital currencies. According to Irene Patrikios (the enrolment manager) the university’s graduates are currently “the only people in the world with full academic proof that they know what they are talking about.”

Bitcoin Club Cyprus is currently collaborating with several Cypriot companies in order to host the island’s biggest blockchain event of 2019, Nakamoto’s Den. Taking place on 19 and 20 February, the conference plans to embrace more than 1,200 blockchain enthusiasts.

Also a very lovely place to live and with one of the lowest tax regimes in Europe.

 

 


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

I was waiting for the 'low tax' bit.. got it in at the end there!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe! I didn't realise that. My sister lives in Cyprus and I have spent a lot of time there and explored various work opportunities. I might explore them a bit harder now, especially if I can get dual nationality and an EU passport.

What a great place for a hotspot I thought just as much with low taxes, sounds like a great place for the next Steemfest event lol who knows @shanibeer.

That's an idea! Although Montreal is making a bid, I believe!

Wow Montreal really! Well they do need a Steemfest outside of europe but not sure I would make that one, guess I will wait and see.

Uh-huh, I thought I would have to start saving now 😊

Very nice! That’s good news!
Hope for the best for Cyprus!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Interesting. Resteemed. Cyprus name reminds me that people (I don't know how many people though) bought Bitcoin during Cypriot financial crisis in 2013. We'll see how these island countries such as Malta and Cyprus grow as a Blockchain island :)

Yes, you are right about Bitcoin and the crisis - maybe that is why Cyprus is so far forward. My sister sent it to me - she lives there.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Very nice! That’s good news!
Hope for the best for Cyprus!

Cheers.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91