You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cover Photos

in #dlike5 years ago

I am a Druid, yeah. I'm by far mostly Celtic ancestrally. It was my French ancestor who married by Mi'kmaq ancestor, but they were Catholic - or at least their child was raised Catholic - and apparently a lot of Mi'kmaq people are still Catholic today. I was raised Catholic too. I don't know what the laws were/are in Canada, but here in the States I think the law made it illegal to perform any indigenous ritual until the 70s - when I was born! The States literally modeled themselves after Rome, and it shows. Rome made a point of killing Druids, because if you kill off the history, law, religion, etc., and then give it a few generations, people identify as Roman instead of as a conquered people who might rise up in rebellion. By the time Rome fell, most of Europe couldn't remember any other culture they had once had. Similarly, America not only massacred so many First Nations, but they did things like that law banning ceremonies and ripping kids from families and putting them in residential schools and banning them from speaking their native tongue and ...killing the culture, so they would identify as American, or at least that's what they were obviously trying for. Fucking imperialism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43