Pontefract Cakes - They're not cakes, but they are still made in Pontefract!!

in #dlike5 years ago

Shared From Dlike

This is the article I wish I could have written when I also wrote a brief post about Pontefract cakes a long time ago now!

This came up on my BBC travel feed and it gave me a sense of pride in my hometown to read this and see the mention of the history and the castle and even a shoutout for Farmer Copley's who I also namechecked albeit in a slightly more salubrious way!

Pontefract still thrives as a market town with a small town centre full of historical.....errr bookies and charity shops but that's ok. It's faring better than many other small northern towns.

This is for you @shanibeer if you can read bbc.com articles in England, it actually makes the place sound more important than it is, but its a nice advert for home nevertheless. Made me feel a little homesick when I read it!

(In the picture, there are my favourite sweets in the whole world, Black and White Mints and I could see of that whole jar! When I was a kid, at Christmas we used to go to the factory shop at Wilkinsons sweet factory and buy a 4 lb box of mis-shapes for pennies!! Those in the picture are £1.40 a quarter!!!! I don't like them that much!!)


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

That's a wonderful story - I have always wondered about liquorice (like where did it come from). The Copleys' venture sounds good, especially the flavouring for gin, I bet that would be very popular. Do you remember those liquorice shoe laces? Hehe 😂

Cakes? Lol... Aren't they mints or lollies?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65628.71
ETH 2669.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86