'Old' Hobbies , New Faces - Stamp Collecting (Yes, it's a @dlike post but its more than 1 sentence and a ripped photo. Just sayin'!)

in #dlike5 years ago (edited)

wilding.png

The 'Wilding' definitive stamps introduced in 1952 for the Queen's ascension to the throne. Designed by....Brian Wilding! the 1 shilling is the lovely brown one with a solid background on the bottom row!

I love, geeky, old fashioned hobbies that often involve collecting or transport or even both! Two of my heroes on Steemit are @blewitt and @shanibeer. @blewitt teaches us how to be both cool and geeky and isn't ashamed to shout it loud and proud that he loves comics and their associated 'merch' (Did I really just type 'merch'? God forgive me).

@shanibeer combines her love of all things knitting and needlework with her love of art to create beautiful pieces of work and gorgeous posts. Steemit is ideal for creating and nurturing niche hobbies and interests!

The closest I got to collecting Comics were hundreds of Beanos and Dandys. Whether it could be counted as true collecting or was just my OCD and unwillingness to throw anything out, I'm not sure but what I did properly collect were Magazines. At one time I had thousands. Most of these, I did eventually dump except for a few old railway ones and some that had special reason for keeping.

Model Railways have been another life long love and so have Stamps, and the reason for this share.

Model Trains and Philately are correctly perceived as being hobbies for anally-retentive middle-aged men, obviously, I fit right in! But I am happy to say that there are signs this may be changing.

In this article from the BBC, they chat with two young pups who are embracing stamps, both for the love of collecting and as a possible investment but also because of the history and the stories behind the stamps. They are also bringing up to date tech to the hobby and finding a whole new audience.

It makes total sense to me. There are geeks of all ages so this 'crossover' to me is natural. I love tech, I love Stamps and Trains, I'm just a nerdy geek. I'm cool with that, but what really makes me happy is that some of these older, traditional hobbies and interests are kept going by younger generations and not allowed to die under an avalanche of iPhones.

What I would say, is that the people of my age who are involved in clubs, forums and the exhibition scene, both for stamps and models need to encourage youngsters to be interested. I am a member of many online forums and groups simply because I like to keep up to date and to see what others are collecting or building. I even go to exhibitions, but I would never get involved. A lot of the people are not people I would wish to mix with socially and certainly don't do anything to encourage new users. Rivet and perforation counters who can't help but criticise and pick fault are everywhere, and it's a shame.

If someone wants to run Thomas the Tank Engine pulling a train of 1970s Mk11 coaches, that's cool. If someone's prized 1 shilling, 1952 Wilding has mounting marks and a perforation missing. No problem.

A Mk11Coach. TSO means 'Tourist Second Open' , standard 2 x 2 seating and 'open' format, ie no compartments. The C1 is a route availability code.

The older, and often more arrogant generation won't be around forever. Let's just hope there are more people like these two to continue the hobbies well into the new millenium.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

The opportunity to be exposed to new ideas is both the potential and the downfall of Steem ... well, the blogging platforms anyway. I didn't know I was interested in trains, planes and, now, stamps, until I started reading your posts. I wrote a small post about an art exhibition I went to last week and, due to the comments, I've found myself investigating further ... it's a great way of learning but somewhere I will have to draw a line ...
I know what you mean about perfection, it can destroy enthusiasm, pleasure and adventure. Each of these things have their own place, and learning and experience is as valuable as a locked away perfect piece.
I wish I had saved my Beanos, I think about the characters in some of the strips often. I can't remember which one Desperate Dan was in, but I do remember my mum trying to explain why the character was called Desperate heh heh.

I’m honored to be called cool. My kids think I’m an embarrassing dipshit so I’ll take this compliment as I don’t know of the next time it’ll happen.

Embrace yer inner nerd!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great work ♥️ brother

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84