BBC - Travel - An exhilarating train journey across the Sahara

in #dlike4 years ago

Shared From Dlike

As you are well aware, I love trains. I also love travelling and great travel writers so when I find great travel writing online thats about trains, I just have to share it!

I can't believe I'd never heard of this journey before and its absolutely going down on my bucket list now as a must do!

This is a great article about a train called Mauritania’s Train du Desert that runs 704km in 20 hours across the Sahara desert in Mauritania between the Atlantic coast port of Nouadhibou to the iron ore mines in Zouerat in the north-west of the country. 

The train is over 2km long and does carry passengers other than thousands of tonnes of iron-ore on a daily basis!

Anyway, read this excellent article from Alastair Gill and soak up the amazing words and pictures.

Another top-class article from the BBC travel team that has me drooling in anticipation!!


Shared On DLIKE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48