Why are you so busy?

in #dlike5 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of being busy. I’m more tired of the social rewards we earn for being busy. If you’re busy and running at a frantic pace, the world seems to take notice.

In the workplace, busyness is like a badge of self-importance as we run around with our hair on fire rushing from meeting to meeting, deadline to deadline, etc. Many times, that busyness is rewarded as leaders mistake it for productivity and promote the “hard working” employees. At home, we believe that our busyness is accomplishing something meaningful as we rush our kids to extra-curricular activities (“to enrich them”) or busy ourselves with endless household duties (“to create a happy home”).

The thing about busyness is that it rarely offers us the rewards we want. We rush to earn more money. We rush to save time. We rush to fulfill all of our commitments. We rush, we rush, we rush and in the end we accomplish little of real importance or meaning. Sure, we can check things off our list, but are they even things we really care about?

In the last six months, I’ve been consumed with busyness. I’ve been exhausted, but I press on thinking, “I must just work harder.” But working harder, faster or longer isn’t always the answer and I realized that this weekend as I finished reading Timothy Ferriss’ The 4-Hour Workweek. Ferriss offered a number of thought-provoking ideas that I’ll act on, but there were two questions that resonated with me most:

  • Am I being productive or just active?
  • If this is the only thing I accomplish today, will I be satisfied?

As I shift my focus away from increasing activity to increasing productivity and meaning, my perspective on my work-life has improved – dramatically. I no longer feel busy, but accomplished. I no longer feel pressured, but in control. I no longer feel frazzled, but calm. There’s a freedom in letting go of busyness that I hadn’t felt in a very long time. I see what is important, I prioritize it and then I act on it.

These two simple questions have created more time in my workweek than any other time management technique I’ve learned so far. In fact, there have been free moments this week when I didn’t know what to do with myself, so I did the unfathomable. I did nothing and I’ll tell ya…it really was something.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

will I be satisfied? seems to be an important key to the brain to motivation to keep going.
"playing ketchup" is the American idiom for being busy for the sake of looking busy as if You accomplish a lot of "work", it looks all dramatic red but it is just playing the messy moves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66