You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: France and Facebook announce partnership against online hate speech – POLITICO

in #dlike6 years ago

Surely , some can be reasoned with based on facts.
But not to be naive , a lot of them don't want to be reasoned with and dig in deeper when confronted with facts.

To be clear - I am not suggesting all of them needs to be shut down , only the ones with the closest proximity to actionable rhetoric.
Rest of them ( IMO) need to be ignored as the main thing they feed on is the attention from a stranger on internet.

That's just my lived experience though !!

Sort:  

I agree much of it is for attention. some of it is just talking. I've never seen anyone who believes in Hate Speech be able to define what it is, when it crosses the line and apply their thoughts both directions. See some of the craziness on this post alone.

I am not a legal scholar but I think when crazy talk linked with intent to action/incite action it becomes hate speech.

Like many things in life it is not black and white and require case by case consideration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78