Bullitt Movie Review & Film Summary (1968) | Roger Ebert

in #dlike6 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

Tonight's movie was Bullitt (1968) starring Steve McQueen as the title character, Lt. Frank Bullitt of the San Francisco Police Department. This is another one of those movies I just assumed I've already seen. But after looking at the description I thought maybe I hadn't seen it. I assumed it was a car movie. Although there is an amazing car chase scene in the middle of the film, anyone coming to this expecting an action movie might be disappointed. It is a great police drama, an early film that has all the grit and grime of 70s crime films. This is just bleak but great.

 

From the article:

 

Steve McQueen is sometimes criticized for only playing "himself" in the movies. This misses the boat, I think. Stars like McQueen, Bogart, Wayne or Newman aren't primarily actors, but presences. They have a myth, a personal legend they've built up in our minds during many movies, and when they try to play against that image it usually looks phony.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

The car is jumps

I wonder if this is one of the earliest films to show cars jumping on the hills of San Francisco. They're more subtle, often showing the jumps from the interior driver's point of view. They don't go for the slow motion shots of the car taking into the air like I recall from 70s and 80s TV and movies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74