Bad Times at the El Royale Review: A Fiendishly Clever Crime Thriller | IndieWire

in #dlike6 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

Tonight's movie is Bad Times at the El Royale. This is directed by Drew Stoddard, who previously directed The Cabin in the Woods. I didn't care for that movie and I'm glad I was unaware it was the same director. The trailers for this film with a great look and feel, plus a great cast had me interested. Knowing that it is the same director, I can see similarities. 

 

I don't want to spoil anything though. I will say it's inspired by characters from pulp crime novels. Don't go into this expecting realism. I like this about the movie. I like to pretend I'm in a dreamworld, but it's more a nightmare. There are surprises, but don't expect to be handed all the answers.

 

From the article:

 

A piece of major studio entertainment so patient, artful, and thrilling that it might as well be a time machine to the mid-'90s.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

This is amazing picture

I would give it an A. It's quite excellent. The film is divided up into stories focusing on each character, often overlapping. I guess it makes sense that the director was involved with Lost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84