A Simple Favor: Let’s Talk About That Ending, Shall We? | Vanity Fair

in #dlike6 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

I'm home sick on on New Year's Eve so I haven't much to do but take naps and watch movies. Today's first movie was Paul Feig's A Simple Favor (2018). The article I linked to contains spoilers but there will be none in my post. 

 

I saw it described on Rotten Tomatoes as a "mommy noir" and I figured why not? I love film noir and neo-noir. The films plot has elements of noir but it has a more comedic tone over a dramatic story. The noir influence comes from the plot. It might seem to get a bit over the top, but remembering that it has a noir storyline keeps me not getting too lost how incredulous it becomes.

 

The film stars Anna Kendrick and Blake Lively. I'll give the basic story as this is revealed immediately after credits. As an aside, the credits had me hooked from the moment I pressed play. Anna Kendrick plays Stefanie, a YouTube vlogger and the perfect mom. Her new best friend Emily (Lively) asked her to pick her son up from school for her, but never returned to pick him up. It's been a couple days now...and I'll leave it there. Watch the film and tell me what you thought.

 

But I recommend it. Enjoy the ride, then come back to read the spoiler article I attached.

 

 

From the article:

 

There’s no shortage of twists and turns in the Blake Lively-Anna Kendrick thriller, directed by Paul Feig.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

all is vanity fair.

Ending of movies are very important. Let's talk about it...

The women under umbrella picture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74