DJI Spark altitude test easily hits 1000 feet

in #dji7 years ago (edited)

Over the weekend I managed to get sufficiently away from the city (Toronto) to do an altitude test. I flew my DJI Spark at over 1000 feet up. Now it can probably do much higher, seeing as how the max range is 2 miles. So that would be about 10,000 feet. However it was a bit windy that day, thus using more battery power and I wanted to ensure I could get it back safely.

1000feetuplandscape.png

The max distance I've taken it was 1500 feet and it reached a speed of 28mph. I was restricted due to the size of the park I was in so this test was also subdued. This weekend however I hit cottage country where I can push the spark to its limits.

1000feetup.png

I've had the DJI Spark for over 2 weeks now and it's light years from what I remember when I bought some remote helicopters 10 years ago. They were very hard to fly and took many hours of practise. The spark however can be flown by anyone in literally 5 minutes of quick instruction. Many times I'll just take my hands off the controls to figure something out and it will hover perfectly in place without moving an inch. The Mavic, which is almost 2x as large was just release last year, so I can't wait to see what they come up with next year.

If you have a spark it'd be nice to hear how high or far you have flown it or any cool shots you have taken with it.

Sort:  

You're brave, flying it to 1500!

I have a Spark and absolutely love it, but get so paranoid about it getting lost or running out of battery, particularly when it's far out.

Enjoy it; hope to see more videos from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58296.60
ETH 3064.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26