The Horror Story Of DJI Customer Support

in #dji7 years ago (edited)

I NEVER usually get too upset when it comes to BAD customer service, but I recently had purchased the Phantom 4 Pro and the OSMO Mobile to start making higher end videos for my Job and YouTube. At the beginning of June around the 2nd or so my Phantom 4 Pro fell from the SKY and pretty much disintegrated on impact.

20170602_215029_1496458265086.jpg

As you can imagine I was pretty upset and instantly thought it was my fault. After about 10 minutes of sobbing, I pulled myself and together and realized....I DID NOTHING WRONG. I quickly ran into my work and called DJI and waited on hold for around 30 minutes. When the gentlemen answered I told him the story and he said file a claim and send it back to DJI, which I did right after I got off the phone.

Chad Flying Phantom 4 Pro.PNG

Side Note: Calling DJI Customer support is a waste of you precious life. They pretty much can do nothing for you, know nothing about Drones and are really only their to make you feel a little better and direct you to the DJI website.

The next Day I pay about $20 to package my Phantom 4 Pro up and send it back to DJI. Time goes by...2 weeks to be exact and I get the email my drone is covered under warranty. At the time I was pretty excited because the thought of having lost a $2,000 Drone was put to bed. Then I get the email that basically shows they are going to rebuild the entire damn Drone.

Phantom 4 Pro Quote.PNG

So I email DJI and ask them 3 questions.

  1. Does my Warranty restart due to getting all new parts put in my Phantom 4 Pro?

  2. Do I get a new Phanthom 4 Pro Battery? Since my battery fell from 59ft in the air...

  3. Why did the Drone fall out of the sky?

I didn't think this was much to ask, again I just spent over $2k for the Drone and Osmo Mobile. A few days go by and crickets. I get no response from DJI. This is when I start getting a little upset so I call. I'm on hold for 20 minutes prior to a representative picking up.

Screenshot_20170623-180623.png

I speak with the guy from DJI for about 30 minutes. I explain to him my concern with DJI Customer Support or lack of it. I ask him the same questions. He tells me he doesn't know anything about why the drone fell from the sky. He tells me my Warranty doesn't reset and that I'm getting a refurbished drone cause mine was too damaged to repair and that DJI was doing ME a favor by doing it. This is were I lost it and asked him...sir do you own a DJI Drone or any Drone for that matter. He tells me no, I then ask him if he had spent the money I spent on these products, would he want a refurbished drone back or a new one? He continues to tell me DJI was doing me a favor, that I should be happy. I asked him what I needed to do to get a refund and would he please have someone else from DJI call me back. He tells me this is not possible. He can only make notes on my account but no one would be calling me back.

Scene Of The Accident
Screenshot_20170602-210511 (1).png

Thrusday June 29th my Drone shows up. I open it up when I get home from work and look it over and honestly it looked like new so I'm like maybe I'll just let it all go.

20170629_193239.jpg

UNTILL..........

The $150 DJI Phantom 4 Pro Battery doesn't work. I'm thinking...maybe it just isn't charged. I try to charge it overnight and behold.....NOTHING.

Let me recap......

  1. Lost $20 Shipping
  2. Lost 1 Month Usage
  3. Got Refurbished Drone
  4. Got Broken Battery Back
  5. Still have heard nothing from DJI about what they are going to do to resolve my issues.

DJI Customer Support when I emailed about the Battery asked for a video? What the hell is a video of me pressing a battery button going to do? Why would I LIE about getting a bad battery back?

Anyone else have issues like this with DJI? I hope to GOD I'm alone on this but I'm sure I'm not.

Sort:  

Great article!

I think DJI have a standard checking process that the product you are returning is videoed with serial numbers etc. and posted via your account so that when they get the defective device they have a proof it has come directly from you. Apparently there have been a lots of stollen drones effectively being 'laundered' through the repair and replace service.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44