How to get DJ Gigs at nightclubs

in #dj7 years ago (edited)

Mike Power at Studio 3 Crown - Bryan Kearney (880 x 799) copy.jpg

In this article my aim is to help as many DJ/Producers as possible that may have trouble landing their first DJ gig or getting a residency at a nightclub. As I struggled for many, many years to get gigs myself and get anywhere in the music industry, I do know the struggle first-hand. I often used to get asked, “How can I get gigs?” or, “How can I approach the situation?” from some up-and-coming DJs. So, here is what I would do today if I had to start all over again, and what I know actually works after 9 years as a DJ/Promoter working in Melbourne’s nightclub industry.

Realise that you need to replace another DJ

How do you know if you are ready to take your music to the clubs, and that you can bring value to get a chance? Before I get into how to create value, you first and most obviously need to know that your skills and music taste are definitely close to 90 percent there. I say 90 percent because when you play in nightclubs your skills, music selection, crowd reading and confidence evolves further from your experience. The music is super important, more so than skills, because music impresses people, while skills these days rarely do.

I would suggest doing a lot of homework when it comes to comparing yourself. What are DJs doing out there? What is current in terms of music? But more so, how can you be unique and different, so you can bring your own style and sound into the nightclubs? Have you gone out to see what DJs are actually playing in the clubs and what is working? How are the crowd reacting to their music? How does the DJ control the energy and progression of the night to keep the people rocking to their set? And what valuable lessons can you take home and work on in your own DJ set?

You need to measure up and actually be better or different, and then prove it, at least in your mixes/music. I used to and still tell people to send out your DJ mixes to experienced DJs that have had nightclub gigs before, but you have to build relationships or rapport with these people before asking anything from them. Don’t spam or approach a promoter with the offering of yet another DJ mix. This approach is literally 10 years old, and it rarely worked that efficiently when I started 9 years ago.

The point of replacing another DJ is that you first have to get feedback to see if:

  1. Your beat matching, volume levels, and energy levels are up to industry standards in a DJ mix.
  2. Your music is great, people like it, DJs like it and you can be confident that you can indeed do a better job than other DJs out there.
  3. Your style can be a reflection of you at the present time and it can work in a nightclub, and be different yet somehow similar so you can bring something new to this club – putting your own spin on things.

Can you create value for a nightclub?

What many DJs don't realise these days is that it’s not necessarily just DJ skills and music that gets a foot in the door, but also many other determining factors. We as DJs must have what I’ve already mentioned, but I will be honest - I have seen a few people in my time that had rubbish music and average DJ skills and still get the gigs. Frustrating, I know!

These tips are really important because how can you show that you can enhance a club night or event? How can you get in the good books of promoters, DJs and owners? There is just too much music out there and a lot of the time people will not take the time to listen to it if you don’t become important to them first. The fastest way toward getting any DJ gig is a magic word that works alongside value, and that word is contribution.

Here is what you can do to enhance your chances:

  • Bring a group or groups of friends with you into nightclubs each week; become a regular and get promoters’ attention.

  • Become a promoter and get involved in the inner circle. What does a promoter do? Promote event flyers, sell tickets, spread the news by word of mouth and making calls, and bringing friends and other people through that door.

  • Producing your own music is key, as promoters want an artist with their own sound. Also, show you have a great, influential and loyal tribe of fans, on or offline - people who always listen to your music and are forever liking, commenting, and sharing your music. Promoters are constantly looking out for this.

  • Have professional branding and imagery. Ask yourself the question, “Would promoters be impressed by my profile?” You need to be promotable as an artist to appeal to people.

  • Be respectful to all people, promoters, and DJs. Have a positive attitude. This is half the battle as there is a lot of jealous negativity and bad attitudes out there in the music industry. Take time out for people and be willing to meet, greet, and get to know them personally. Take an interest in them, and always ask yourself how you can leave this person with the impression of increase; in other terms, how you can make their life better in conversation.

Start going out more and get on people’s radars

A lot of people never do the most basic and what would seem obvious things. Nothing says I want a gig more than showing up in a nightclub week in, week out. Be loyal, showing support and exclusivity to that chosen club. Make a nightclub your second home; you want to get to know all the key people in this club, so just concentrate on one club. I have a small quote, “Be seen in the scene” as I like to say. People always remember names and faces, not emails and names. There are very important stages to get people to not only notice you, but like and trust you. These stages work in order, and without going through the order you won't build a relationship.

The first step is to get people’s attention; they have to notice you. A lot of people think that this is all they need in a nutshell to get any DJing success, but this is false. The second step is to get people to know you, and how do you do that? Get into one-on-one conversations, get to know people, ask questions and be interested, and leave them with the impression of increase, as mentioned before. The third step is that they have to like you; have you made a good impression, have you added value to people, promoters and DJs? Are they on the verge of becoming your friend? Do you both talk to one another when you see each other?

This is so important because it can be the case of who you know, not what you know, especially when it comes to getting gigs from word of mouth. The fourth and final step is that they have got to trust you in order to put you on. Trust is everything, especially when you are trying to sell yourself and your music. This exact same process happens in business; this is how you can create raving fans and customers in any personal brand and business. Your network will equal your net worth in life, I am convinced. People only do business with people they like, know and trust, with everything.

Network, build your contact list and persist

The music industry is an industry where your relationships are everything. They will make you or break you. I used to be a very shy and introverted person, I used to hate networking, and to be honest it is still not my strongest point. However, I had to get right out of my comfort zone. I remember driving an hour from my place all the way to the city by myself, because my friends did not want to come up and go clubbing and meet new people at various stages.

I wanted it that bad and boy oh boy I was a loner for the most part; it took me years to really get where I wanted to go. My major error at that stage was that I didn’t build a consistent list of contacts.

It can be tricky in the beginning if you don’t know anyone. You will eventually build a network, but it takes time. Don’t fall into the mistake I made by not keeping an active, consistent list of people who you meet. I would advise to create a Google spreadsheet and take down the names of everyone you meet inside and outside the club. I would put their name, where you meet them, what they do and date it. You always want to revise this list and touch base with these people, even if it is just a hello on Facebook. Remember, you want to aim to build friends and fans too, as this is what gets you the gigs; don’t be blinded by only getting the names of DJs or promoters.

Even if you could get just one new contact or connection a week and turn that into a friendship, that would be 52 a year. If you could get 50 people into a nightclub you would be set to cement a weekly residency in there.

Add and show value before asking for anything

After 9 years of being both a promoter and DJ in Melbourne I can safely say that there is not a secret formula or pitch to ask for a gig; most of it seems like common sense, but unfortunately it’s not common practice. It comes down to showing exclusivity to a club, support, bringing in revenue, and bringing your friends and network of people; in other words, bring value consistently. Promoters aren't stupid; they are eventually going to find out that you are a DJ, so you don’t have to tell them. When you take an interest in others they will take an interest in you. That’s when you tell them what excites you, what you do, what music you like etc.

You will find more often than not that you will get offered, or the conversations will naturally lead to the advancement of you getting your first gig. If you are struggling to get anywhere with this topic, by now you should know why. And I can tell you more often than not, it is probably not your skills or music that stops you, it’s your approach to adding value, stepping outside of the box and doing things differently. The reality is that most DJs do not do the work in terms of what I have mentioned above. Becoming someone who does the work and shows up generally wins at the end of the day. Knowledge without action is useless.

It takes resilience to get DJ gigs

Personally it took me somewhat 5 to 6 years to get where I wanted to be as a DJ. It was a long but exciting journey. I went from being a shy, introverted loner to becoming a resident DJ for Majik Entertainment and supporting over 30 international Trance DJs in a two-and-a-half-year period. I tell you this because success is no accident or short-term gratification; it’s hard work, trust me. I faced my setbacks disappointments and promoters taking advantage of me over the years. However, the passion for playing your own music in front of thousands of people will be the most rewarding thing that you have always dreamt about.

Never give up on your dreams, and I wish those of you reading this blog all the best.

If you would like to know more about what I do visit: http://www.thedjdisclosure.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65