Rag Tag Do it Yourself Challenge (Week 4)

in #diyragtag7 years ago

Being able to complete projects with reclaimed, often free materials is one of the most important skills for a homesteader. Especially new homesteaders. We have completed a few of these sorts of projects and they have saved us a lot of money. When I was first tagged to do this challenge I was a bit stumped. The hardest part is actually the limitation on tools not materials!!

27018166_10208694066868975_2089175655_o.jpg
One of our first reclaimed materials projects

Project: Compost

Using the T-post driver drive 4 T-posts into the ground in a square. Wrap the chicken wire around them in a circle and fasten to the posts. Do a second layer on top and fasten so the chicken wire is 4 ft high.

Build 2

This project can be used for compost or a place to dispense of leaves which you could feed to the goats now that it is a browse height.

26982503_10208694066788973_802972828_o.jpg
We always have a pile of reclaimed materials on hand!

Project: Small Wood Shed

Take 3 pallets and place them (48’’ side on the ground) in a row. Use T-posts (up to 4) inside the pallets to stabilize and use a drill for screws where necessary. Place the other 2 perpendicular to the first 3 with the 40’’ side on the ground. Put 2 pallets on the ground inside the structure. Using the tin snips cut the metal sheeting to size and fasten to the tops of the pallets. Fill with firewood

Since this is a theoretical project I’m not entirely sure if there would be enough material to fasten to roofing material to.

I'm tapping @gardengirlcanada to take on the
Ragtag Do-It-Yourself Weekly Challenge!

Check Out Our Recent Articles:

My Top 2017 Posts (challenge)

Follow Us:
Facebook
Pinterest
Youtube
Instagram

DQmVqcRwTgh8SPRAAvw4XFqdJFQjv9gjkKbQwjHgMcUih8S_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I accept the challenge my friend. I spent the day at @canadianwoodguys wood shop today formulating ideas for more efficient planters for my gardens. I will be going back this week to build it myself, I want a much bigger cold frame so perhaps I shall make that my DIY project for this challenge. Thank you for thinking of me.

Good work, plus you went above and beyond with three projects! Very impressive. I'm betting there will be folks using some of these projects, including me. The compost bin would be perfect for my small space!

Interesting point on the limited tools. I was more focused on changing up the materials, that I lost track of required tools. I'll keep that in mind for the next challenge. Thanks for pointing it out!

Oh I just meant that there is sooo much more that could be done with those materials if you could use more tools haha.

Ah, okay! Gotcha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62