The 18650 and you. DIY Powerwall. Recycle 18650steemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy7 years ago

So I visited steam to follow some of my favorite content creators on youtube. A few of them are working on alternate energy (Real alternate energy not this energy from nothing BS.) Solar, wind.. etc..

I've done a few solar projects, more focused on hot water and less on the electric potential. It seems easier for the sun to heat water, than it is to make electricity <- capture, convert, store, convert, and heat hot water-> . After I figured water and heating, I moved on to electricity. I did not want to be tied to the grid, so I wanted a way to store electricity. Batteries are really the only option here. Led acid, AGM, Flooded, Edison Iron, bla bla. From expensive to low energy density, or both.

Then I found the folks making 18650 videos. Liion-18650-AA-battery

https://www.youtube.com/user/nocrf50here (HBpowerwall) I watched all of his videos, then found others.

https://www.youtube.com/user/jehugarcia
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwHeIzOoLgSXHwxTSNSaKXA

Mike has a cool 30 second what's going on.

1: Get laptop batteries.
2: Open laptop batteries.
3: Test laptop 18650 cells.
4: Reassemble hundreds or thousands of the cells into a giant powerwall.
5: Profit?

Anyway, just wanted to bring the 18650 "energy" here, and maybe expand steem some.

Wub

Sort:  

Congratulations @wubboy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very good tutorial - I have a question regarding 18650 battery alternative which is a 3xaaa adapter - can I put it in a normal aaa charger? Would it only take longer for accumulators to charge or can I also damage them?

I would not put a 18650 in a charger used for another battery type. ni-cad, or led acid, don't follow the same charging curve as an 18650.

http://batteryuniversity.com/ has a lot of good information on all types of batteries if you want hours and hours of further reading on batteries.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60410.66
ETH 2598.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62