Christmas in July: A Fireplace Story

in #diy7 years ago

45[1].jpg

July gets extremely hot and humid where I live. So what could be better than revisiting a cool winter DIY project that I tackled shortly before Christmas? When I was looking for a home, a fireplace was on my must-have list. I grew up with a wood burning fireplace, and winter weekends were filled with cheery, crackling fires. (I can also clearly remember the house filling up with smoke frequently when someone didn't warm up the chimney properly before starting a fire!) On holidays, the fire would be kept burning brightly all day and well into the night. It's a memory that I cherish and wanted to pass on to my own children when I started a family.

39[1].jpg

Unfortunately, the fireplace in my home was deemed unsafe to use, and it would cost $4,000 to bring it back to life as a wood-burning fireplace and $5,000 to convert it into a gas fireplace. A friend brought a third option to my attention, which was to install an electric fireplace. While a wood-burner would be my first choice, and a gas would be great for resale, I ultimately decided on an electric insert since I had two young children running around and touching everything. I reasoned that I could easily do one of the other two options later down the road when the kids were older and able to show some self-restraint when it comes to touching hot surfaces.

My first job was to knock down all of the old tile. I had no idea what that process would entail or if I would have to smash each tile off individually. Fortunately, everything came down easily and fairly neatly, and all I used was a mini pry-bar and a hammer. I had all of the tile taken off in less than 15 minutes (and it was fun, too!)

41[1].jpg

40[1].jpg

The second step was to apply a skim coat of cement for the purpose of smoothing out the fireplace surround. Tiling requires a very level surface, and there were lots of little depressions, as well as a huge hole, that I had to fill in to make that happen. It took two coats to get it as smooth as I wanted it to be. I also had to patch a few places on the hearth with concrete to make a nice, even base.

42[1].jpg

Once the skim coat and concrete were set, I was able to go ahead and begin tiling. I chose a mini brick subway mosaic tile made of polished marble to continue the theme I started in the bathroom. (I also intend on doing the kitchen back splash in polished marble to tie all of the rooms together). For the hearth, I chose a larger polished marble subway tile. An important note about working with marble tiles--you really should seal them before you lay or grout them, as marble has a tendency to suck up colors from the mortar and grout. This causes unsightly stains on your beautiful marble tiles! All it takes is a swipe of a cloth dipped in sealer the night before, and you are ready to tile to your heart's content the following day.

After letting the tiles set for 24 hours, I was able to grout them the following day. Cleaning the grout off tiles can be a little tricky, and it's very common to have a grout haze left over the following day. Don't panic! I've found that a little warm water mixed with white vinegar is great at cleaning off the haze. And, here's an even crazier trick: I noticed that I had missed a few tiles and there was still some haze hanging around. I was way too lazy and didn't want to mix up any more vinegar and water solution. I did, however, have baby wipes right on the living room coffee table. I was curious...would they work to solve my problem and allow me to continue to be lazy? Yep, they sure did! A little buffering with a baby wipe, and that grout haze skedaddled on out of there! Who knew? I'm sure baby wipes are at the top of all tiling contractors' lists of necessary supplies. If not, they should be! After all, this project was completed during a series of nap times, so it's only fitting that baby wipes were the finishing touch.

I hired an electrician to install an outlet inside of the fireplace. I had to have a custom metal surround made for my fireplace since the opening was so much larger than the insert itself. I was nervous that I hadn't measured correctly, but everything fit perfectly into place. I even got my stockings hung (by the chimney with care) just in time for Christmas! I still long for the look, feel, and warmth of a real, crackling fire, but my two-year-old loves turning the fireplace on (even in July!), staring at the flames, and warming his hands by the fire...err...the heating element. Oh, well...someday, we will have the real thing!

43[1].jpg

44[1].jpg

Sort:  

That looks great! Good job on the fireplace. Did you get all your stress out breaking down the tiles? lol :)

Yes, that was why it was so fun! What else can I smash up???

LOL! What is your next project right?? :)

FLOORS! I hate my carpet and kitchen linoleum with a passion!!!!

There you go! Rip that carpet up! It's probably not as fun as tile...lol but you can tear that too.... :)

This really does look great! I love the marble tile on the floor and the inset is beautiful. Do you have plans for the old tile you popped off? Perhaps a fun mosaic for the garden? :D

All of these projects are increasing the value and beauty of your home. So, are you fixing it to stay or fixing it to eventually move?

When I first bought the house, I really thought it was a house I could grow old in. I love, love, love my neighborhood. It's peaceful and zen and my sanctuary! So right now the plan is to fix it up to stay. However, I do have thoughts that creep into my head about moving on from this city...if necessary...due to some of the complications that surround my family now. I would SO hate to leave my house and neighborhood though. So, right now, I guess only time will tell...

I'm lucky enough that my kids are grown and neighborhoods and schools aren't so much of a determining factor. In fact, hubby and I have thought when we retire we might have a tiny house as "home base" and then spend our time on the road RVing and visiting our kids and (future) grandkids.

That actually sounds like fun! The freedom of the open road and few responsibilities. I like it! Ready to retire now :)

Oh, yeah. I'm ready to retire too... except I really love my job! lol

Excellent post dear friend @thesimplelife, thank you very much for sharing this wonderful work
Have a great day

Thank you! Same to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68