Anxious Mind? No Worries...Rip Something Out!

in #diy7 years ago

There's nothing like ripping something out to keep an anxious mind busy. Whenever I tend to get anxious about something I am unable to control, I turn to home renovation projects to keep my mind and hands occupied until the storm passes. Last August, we were experiencing a time of great transition with the Little Man, which was causing me a great deal of stress and worry. So what does one do to cope? How about a bathroom remodel for just under $1,000?!

I have a downstairs bathroom that was a complete eyesore. Every time I walked in, I cringed. The floor was stained, the walls were covered in ugly 70's paneling that had been textured and painted, and there was no sink. A bathroom with no sink! It was the talk of all of my guests every time they visited. The bathroom is very small (I believe it was probably once a pantry off the kitchen hallway) which definitely limits what can be done in a space.

I was nervous to take the paneling off. My walls are good, old, solid plaster. It's super hard to even put up a wall hanging! However, I've seen some of them crumbling under the other treatments the previous owners put up, and I was not in the mood to replace any walls. (It's also way beyond my current skill level.) My house was built around 1920, and I really try to keep any remodels within the style of that time period. Paneling from the 70's era definitely does not scream "historical remodel". I decided to cover the paneling with paintable wallpaper. I had seen several applications on social media that looked very nice, so I chose a pattern that closely resembled tin tiles to apply over the paneling.

13902769_10209579951358686_7641372716178491626_n.jpg

Above, you can see how the wallpaper nicely covers the paneling for a definite upgraded look. I hated how the paneling stopped short before the plaster began. Since I had some left-over material from the cupboard project, I created a chair rail by nailing two-inch boards that were a 1/4 inch thick tightly against the edge of the paneling. I used the same boards to create a shelf-like trim and finished it with cove moulding underneath the over-hang to secure the two pieces together. Finally, a coat of white paint brought the old paneling and the new trim together as one stylistic unit.

IMG_0688.JPG

My next challenge was the flooring. The laminate floor had been deeply stained from years of water leaks. Little did I know (although, in retrospect, should have probably guessed) that the subfloor had been damaged as well. Here is a snapshot of the floor before it got ripped out.

13938377_10209579951518690_3181988330027898834_n.jpg

Surprise! This is what was underneath:
14034834_10209579951838698_8340940433609449798_n.jpg

I was disappointed I would be unable to save the original flooring underneath the laminate. Marble mosaic tile was my next choice, and I chose a nice polished hexagon pattern to give the room a little more glamour. After replacing the subfloor, I did a ton of research on the best type of tiling membrane to use and landed on the Shluter Ditra membrane. I tell you--that stuff was pretty slick, and I would use it again and again! Laying down the tile was pretty simple after that. A little grout the next day, and a new floor was in place!
13934706_10209579952078704_1022467443540041112_n.jpg

To finish up the bathroom, I had a very small pedestal sink installed. In order to keep the cost down, I had to have it placed on the wall right next to the door, which made opening the door impossible. I replaced the door with a bi-fold door, and the bathroom was finally complete. Below is a picture of the final result. Now, instead of guests laughing that there's no sink, I hear comments about what a cute little bathroom it is! I definitely prefer hearing those words...especially since I have the satisfaction of doing almost all of the work myself.

IMG_0687.JPG

Sort:  

Wow this before and after is stellar! Great work - Love DIY projects and so glad you documented it for us!

Thank you! I have lots more but I am starting to wonder about the interest level on this platform. Thanks for the comment!

I could never get enough of before and after photos of home stuff! It's so satisfying (also that I'm not the one doing the work!) :)

Well thanks for the encouragement! I might have to do another one for my entry post today too...

Looking forward to it- i'm on the prowl for a new diy project- maybe you'll inspire me :)

Ha! I didn't get it done today because something organically popped up to write about...but maybe tomorrow!

How serindipitous! I love when topics appear out of nowhere :)

Amazing job on this renovation!
I started laughing when I saw the laminate flooring that used to be in there. It was the exact stuff in my old kitchen. LOL
What a great way to blow off steam and be creative in times of trouble or stress. I am inspired!

It's in my kitchen as well and it's next on the list! I might not do this flooring project though with the kids and the stress...I think it'd be too much to take on by myself at this time. But I still want it gone so I might just have to have someone else come in and do it!

My husband and I are tossed between looking for a fixer upper or buying land and building from scratch. I have hammer and will travel. He's a master plumber in Florida, plus he loves drawing up floor plans for house ideas. I'm thinking we have to take action soon. We're not getting any younger!

The older I get the more I do tend to slow down! Finding it hard to have motivation for it this summer but also needing to do it a. Because it's necessary and B. To keep my mind occupied!

Wow, that is amazing! I'm in awe of your skills there. Excellent job.

Thank you so much! I really enjoy doing it...most of the time!

That looks awesome. It's great you could do it by yourself to save some money.

Thanks! I'm always having to figure out ways to get my home to how I like it but on the cheap, so DIY is the answer!!

That's great that you are able to DIY! I am sure youtube and google can be very helpful for how-tos :)

Yes I do learn quite a lot from there! I also have some friends I can pump for information when needed.

That is awesome! So they can guide you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61659.26
ETH 2446.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60