DIY Simulate Sunrise for Early Mornings

in #diy6 years ago

My job starts early morning, I dont know about you but it takes me forever to get up when its still dark outside. I dont like to drink coffee, I have been able to stay away for it for so long. My body clock wakes with the sunrise, so I wanted to simulate it to coincide with my alarm clock. Here is what I ended up doing:

The light strip will turn on 1 hour before my alarm clock. It will start out with Red light to simulate the early morning sunrise:

DSCN3201.JPG

Then after 30 minutes it goes to Dim White:

DSCN3202.JPG

Then 15 minutes later it goes to Bright White:

DSCN3199.JPG

I used an Arduino and 3 Mosfets to control the LED Light Strip, and a Plug-in-Timer to sink with the actual time. It was the cheapest and easiest way I could think of, without using ALEXA

I will have to get back to you on how I feel after a week or two of using this to let you know if it works.

I can also use it for mood lighting ...

DSCN3209.JPG

DSCN3210.JPG

Sort:  

Cool! i also shared your post with the @steemmaker website, let's hope it get featured there!

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43