DIY Mini Glass Vacuum Chamber

in #diy6 years ago

I wanted to have a glass vacuum chamber so I could have a better perspective on my plasma demonstrations, but I was not able to a descent cheap glass dome. Of course I found a way to make my own. I had these glass hole drill bits and left over glass sauce jars and wanted to try it out. I made a bet that since its small and the glass walls are thick, that it would not implode on my.

DSC00073 -1.jpg

In order to do this you'll need to keep the glass drill bit under water, I plugged the sink and of course wore the proper PPE. The time to drill the hole was about 2 min. with medium to little pressure. Starting the hole was a challenge, it kept sliding around, so I had the drill at high RPM with very light pressure to get the groves to start.

DSC00075 -1.jpg

I glued the brass hose nozzle to the glass jar with 2 part adhesive and when that dried silicon on the outside with the vacuum pump on, to suck in the possible holes missed from the glue.

DSC00076 -1.jpg

On the base, or lid, of the jar, I used silicone to create a air tight seal. I didnt want the silicone to stick to the aluminium plate so I just used soap to keep it from sticking.

DSC00082 -1.jpg

Here is the first test, I had a tempered glass shield in from of me and my new expensive camera, so sorry for the glare. So far so good, it hasnt imploded yet. It looks like there might be a gas leak, I will have to patch that up after everything dries. It hasnt even been 12 hrs yet, im kinda impatient. Once it gets completely sealed, I should be able to fill the entire jar with plasma.

DSC00090 -1.jpg

Sort:  

I am happy to see you posting again. I came across your blog because of thr green screen idea you had. I am not into electricity at all but I completely appreciate what you are doing, it is unique and cool. I was bummed out when I thought steemit lost you because I think you will do very well on here if you keep blogging!

Best of luck! Resteemed and followed.

Thank you, I really appreciate it.

Only just spotted your stuff, very cool!

Do you suppose a dremel with a sanding tip would be a good way to rough up the glass before drilling the hole so that the regular drill bit doesn't slide around as much? Or would this lead to cracking?

_20180807_182519.JPG

Thanks, I found an easier way to hold the drill bit in place. Just get a cup, cut it in half, then tape it together. Next use the drill bit to drill a hole in the center using the concave side. Tape the outside edges for support and boom. Drill Guide.

The crack in the glass is on the inside, I kinda put too much pressure on it and it cracked through. I was kinda inpatient lol, I literally just made this after I read your comment, and was eager to test it out.

that's interesting don't forget to share jar full of plasma with us

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77