Re-decking a utility trailer

in #diy7 years ago

I loaded my riding mower onto my trailer last fall and headed down the road, less than a half a mile from my house I crossed some railroad tracks and heard a loud crash come from behind me.   After pulling over to investigate the noise I saw that the front of my mower had fallen through the trailer.  I knew that it was getting close to needing re-decked but didn't think it was that bad.  After putting it off all winter I finally decided I needed to get it done.  I began by tearing off the old boards and putting on a new light kit.   

 

After the wood was off I sanded off the rust and repainted the frame..  

 

Now It was time to figure out the cuts so that the boards line up with the screw holes... 

  

The final step was placing the boards and screwing them to the trailer.   

Re-decking the trailer was not as difficult as I had made myself believe it was going to be.  To be honest that's why I didn't do it sooner.  Doing things yourself builds self confidence, saves money, and will make you a little more self sufficient with each project you complete.  What projects are you working on, and are they easier or harder than you thought they would be 

 All images were taken by @sufficientliving

Sort:  

Congratulations @sufficientliving! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @sufficientliving! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I got a trailer that needs some of this same TLC... followed and resteemed by your fellow THL team member

Thank you for the follow and resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57130.74
ETH 2551.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41