Making it happen: My number 1 goal, and the reason I'm on Steemit

in #diy7 years ago

Hello again, I haven't been on here in a while, but I'm back!IMG_0654.JPG

my plan when I first got on steemit was to post about progress I've made on my projects and whatnot, But then I kept hitting road blocks, which prevented me from being able to invest my money and time into my projects and Steemit.

But I've been thinking that with my being such a bum and all, that there is no better reason to post on Steemit. Also, most of my "roadbocks" have been probably worth posting anyway.

I've made an "official" list of projects I need to finish ASAP, and I'm going to start knocking them out using only the funds I can manage to get from Steemit, because honestly, I don't have any more money.

I love my job, but its got irregular hours, and I don't make enough to both stay living and work on my projects. But I should really be posting more stuff about my work because its actually pretty cool, I'm just so used to it, that its less bloggable in my mind than it actually probably is. GET IT? Check this ol crap out! I made it!

IMG_0924.JPG
IMG_0595.JPGIMG_0590.JPGIMG_0872.JPG

This was a CNC project I did as a side gig. I'm pretty handy with a CNC router, but its hard to acquire side gigs when you don't want to do it full time.
IMG_0922.JPG

I got some help converting my steem dollars into spendable money, so I'm ready to get cranking on the projects I've made progress on so far.

Since my last post about melting down aluminum, I've been doing a LOT of talking around town, gotten very good advice, found a lot of very good resources, and now I have a whole list of things I need to make it happen, and a friend who wants to get in on the action. I'm actually picking up some old 16 gallon oil barrels for the new foundry today. In the meantime I've been carving out foam parts to cast in aluminum. SOOOOO much more on this to come.

IMG_0659.JPG

Also, look at this old thing!
IMG_0908.JPG
My buddy saved it from a metal recycling dumpster and gave it to me. I do have to clean it up and get it all up and running, but I will soon be able to do some leather work on it.
I used to make a lot of strange bondage gear and clothes with an old sewing machine like this. More to come!

I also got this wax which I intend to carve into jewelry soon. There is a jeweler who works in the same building as the woodshop I work in, and she sends things off to get cast all the time. easy peasy, one project waiting on funds for the casting.
IMG_0901.JPG

I also want to make a few big cut out boards like this:
cutout.jpg
But my idea is to make them super politically and socially charged, and leave them in downtown Detroit.

I also have posts to come with all of my recent misadventures. Car repair problems, traveling to see the eclipse with 20 year old Croatian eclipse glasses, using a laser cutter to make kistchy wall art for some silly family, yadda yadda yadda.

SEE YOU ALL AGAIN SOON!

Sort:  

Steemit Jungle seems to yield a lot of surprises... in my few hours spent here I never saw a blog like this before... seems it is imperative to stay excited...

i like that furniture dude, or should i say, garbage dude!

Thanks my man!

I go to follow you , I like to work with my hands

Thanks!

Oh the singer sewing machine brings back so many memories...

Oh yeah. I learned how to sew on my grandmas old singer. we looked up the serial number on this one and its almost 100 years old. the lever on the bottom is a knee operated switch instead of the standard foot pedal they switched to soon after they made this one.

Good job room mate!

Thanks room mate!

haha Love the idea of making the political cut out boards and leaving them in a city 😂😂 A brilliant way to get people talking. I also love the stools, they look beautiful.

Thanks! I like the idea because hardly anyone can resist taking photos of themselves, and people who "dont pay attention to politics" will have to choose between their narcissism and their apathy.

that Singer machine is very cool

Thanks! its almost 100 years old. The lever on the bottom is a knee operated switch instead of the regular foot switch.

the furnitures are beautiful

Thanks!

👍you're welcome.

Thats pretty much my daily mantra

Keep on posting about your days, your works, your “garbage”. You will be surprised of the results! Good luck @slimsammy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65160.59
ETH 3545.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43