Solar-Charged electric bicycle Howto/GuidesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy8 years ago (edited)

For a long time now i've been playing around with solar panels.
Thanks to Steemit, and well, you, Steemers, I was able to move ahead a lot faster with it lately, and I have now completed solar-charging my electric bicycle.

IMG_20170226_170557.jpg

The system will work for any 36-48v bicycle battery, and while not optimal, it does an excellent job extending your range or simply charging your bike while it's parked outside.

What will you need:

Wiring

  • Wiring in our case is rather simple, you want to parallel-connect all 3 panels so that you will have 12V 30W Total, use a diode between them (if your panels don't have one built in in its connector-box on the back side).
    Connect the panels to the input of your 12-48 convertor.
  • You should now have 48V coming out of the output pins. Connect those to the solar panel pins on your connector.
  • Use two wires from the battery pins on your controller, to your battery. Your bike battery may explode if wrongly connected, and might burn your contoller if polarity is wrong.

IMG_20170226_170611.jpg

In my setup, I used 3 panels but ofcourse you can use more, as long as you connect them in parallel.
My setup manages to add 2 volts to the battery in a sunny day, so most of the time I don't have to charge it in the electricity at all.

If anyone needs help setting this up, let me know :)

-Simba.

Sort:  

Good stuff! I made an ebike as a uni project a while back. I converted a regular bike into an ebike. I designed the controller, circuits, speedometer everything myself. My ebike charged via 3 sources: AC, Solar, and via mechanical energy converted into electrical energy when pedaling.

OMG awesome!! I'd love to see photos if you have them, I love this stuff :)

Here you go. Sorry, don't have a better quality pic atm. I'll write an article on it soon. :)
P_20170205_160556.jpg

Oh wow, this is awesome!! and I thought I was pioneering here or something :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74