More Work on the House - Replacing windows

in #diy6 years ago

More work from the hail storm we had 6 weeks ago. Four windows were damaged in the storm so we are replacing them.

We have never replaced windows so we were a little nervous about doing the work. So we spoke with friends and came up with a game plan on replacing them.

20180501_075121.jpg

Once we had the window out we had an issue. The aluminum windows width is almost 1 inch narrower compared to the new windows. This could have been tackled several ways but we decided to add another trim board behind the window.

20180501_194353.jpg

Next we are painting the house...

How do you tackle projects you have never done before?

Sort:  

If it is a construction project, I rely on knowledge I've gained through the years working. I know how to do a fair amount. However, I ask, ask, and ask people who are in other trades that I work with for advice. If it's auto related, I'll ask my buddies who do auto work regularly.

Anything else, I try to find people who have experience in what I'm trying to do......see the pattern? Lol. Most importantly, after I get the advice I need, I DO THE WORK! When I do the work, I learn. The more I learn, the less I have to rely on others.

Hey Josh....nice to see you come over here from Sola! I am the same simms50 there has I am here. I can say that you are right about having to rely less on others the more we learn. Over the years of home ownership you really do have to learn a little about everything! Oh and I'm also following you now on here, looking forward to your first post and the ones to come afterwards!

Thanks, I am finding the post on here are quality. Alot of good info. The people seem courteous; not one single troll so far haha! I'll be posting as soon as I find a pic hosting site that actually works. Any advice is appreciated. Nice to see you also!

The people seem courteous; not one single troll so far haha!

I fully agree! We really enjoy it!


I'll be posting as soon as I find a pic hosting site that actually works. Any advice is appreciated.

You can just drag an image and copy it directly to steemit, or try this one : https://postimages.org/

Awesome man @papa-pepper is, helping out the new people with a nice upvote! Thanks for all you do for the community sir! Oh and thanks for upvoting my comment as well!!! As for you @redneckreject I have experienced the same thing this past year: good content and creators! As for the pic hosting site I do the very thing that @papa-pepper replied with, as in just drag and drop an image into steemit!

YT University....

LOL - Sometimes I think I could be a surgeon...!!

LOL Ya scaring me smalls.....

Thankfully it was an easy fix for you! A little paint touch up is doable.
We replaced all the windows in our house except 2 when we first moved in. It wasn’t until they took out the old ones and installing the new ones, that they realized one window was too short (6” too short) and so they left that DuPont humid barrier paper covering the window till they got a new one. Of course, this was the summer we had a thunderstorm almost every other day. One day, I thought for sure we were going to come home to a destroyed house because the storm was so bad. I was thankful everything was ok!
Anyways, we usually hire out any big projects (although that’s proven itself to not guarantee a job well done) otherwise, I will go on Pinterest or google for help.

Sounds like you all had tough window replacement!
Unfortunately, we are planning to paint the whole house, I wish we could touch it up. Thankfully painting the house isn't an annual event!!

Slowly, but then everything is done slowly here these days.... :))

I got lucky, when I decided to replace all the windows in my house 5 years ago there was a friend at church who was a general contractor who came and helped me install them! As for your question I always ask Google or Youtube.... They claim to know everything!

What a blessing!

He sure was, and if I had to replace a window today I would not be intimidate, well at least not as much.

Just found this video I thought you might enjoy! LOL

Toooo FUNNY! Good micros are key.

Shalom @shalomacres! Always exciting to "meet" like-minded believers. We're also currently replacing windows but I suspect it will be an ongoing project. My autistic stepson impulsively needs to break things. Currently he is throwing rocks through our windows. But ABBA gives us strength for each day and the ability to replace the windows....

Hey buckaroo! I am so glad to hear our Father gives you patience, strength, and guidance. Sometimes it is hard to understand why some thing happen but he always has a plan! Shalom!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19