Homemade Dishwasher Tablets

in #diy6 years ago

Today, I wanted to share a way easy recipe for DIY Homemade Dishwasher Tablets. I love the smell of my dishes after the wash is finished up... inhale the delightful smell of your essential oils! Not only will you love the smell but your dishes will thank you for not poisoning them with those other dishwashing soaps/tablets out there. Gross and HIGHLY toxic!

IMG_7805.JPG

Anyways, let's begin shall we?

What you will need:

  • 1 1/2 cups Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda
  • 3 Tablespoons Salt (course salt)
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 45 drops essential oil of choice (lemongrass, grapefruit or lemon etc)
  • Silicon mold

Directions:

  1. Mix washing soda and salt together in a large bowl.
  2. Mix water and essential oils together in a smaller glass bowl and pour into dry mixture. Stir well.
  3. Place a dollop of mix into silicone mold and press firmly into the mold. Scrape away the excess with the side of your spoon.
  4. Let set overnight/24 hours to dry. Pop out of mold and store in a glass container.
  5. I add 2 teaspoons of "Citric Acid" with 1 tablet into my soap dispenser area with each load. I have hard water and the Citric Acid helps keep the scum deposits from forming on my dishes and inside walls of our dishwasher. *** DO NOT add Citric Acid into your molds with the tablet mixture. I tried that and it makes your mixture rock solid and you won't be able to make your tablets.

IMG_7800.JPG

IMG_7801.JPG

IMG_7802.JPG

IMG_7803.JPG

And there she is folks... DIY Homemade Dishwashing Tablets! Let me know how you like them and how delightful your dishes smell. Have a lovely rest of your week ya'll.

Feel free to re-steem and share with your friends. @sending-arrows

Sort:  

This is awesome! May I link this article and feature your username in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter? It would be a great addition to the DIY section! Let me know @sending-arrows! Thanks!

Happy Sunday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked and featured in the most recent Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thank you and have a great day!

Bless you! I so appreciate your kindness... thank you!!!❤️

Sister! I need these in my life!! 😘

Yes, yes you do!

Those would be a lot better then people eating the tide pods.

You might get a tummy ache but you most likely wouldn't DIE! Those tide pods are horrible!

I Love This! Thank you for a wonderful idea! I hate those tablets we buy..who knows what they're really made of. Kind of scary. I will definitely try this!
Re-steeming!

Those dreadful tablets we have always used... blah! I cringe just thinking of each of those nasty ingredients. So thankful for recipes like this to better our home and make it a more safe environment. Thanks for saying hi and for your encouragement.

Is that all that’s in there?! That’s easy peasy! I have tried dishwasher powder before and didn’t have luck with it. I’m wondering if it’s because of the hard water. If I try this in the future, I will have to get the citric acid.

The citric acid is key! Takes the scum away. Let me know how you like it.

Easy recipe seems like it would smell great. Thank you. 🐓🐓

It does smell lovely! You are so welcome.

Glad to see a recipe for one that works!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57690.80
ETH 2449.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33