Flat Foot Farm- fun, family, freedom and homestead farming in Alaska... the Last Frontier

in #diy8 years ago (edited)

I'm so excited to be here on Steemit now! Blogging is a new experience for me but I'm hoping to pass on useful information for you, the reader, to start your own homestead farming experience.

Who can do this? Anyone. There's so much about it I'm sure there's something you'll find to interest you.

In the way of introduction to my particular philosophy, I want to make one thing clear and that's that there is no adversarial attitude toward scientific and commercial farming here:

We recognize commercial farming is absolutely necessary to supporting the 7.12 billion people who live on this planet and there is much to learn from the folks who farm commercially... but there's a certain edge to the smaller scale of the homestead.

The main difference between farming and homesteading isn't only scale- it's the objective. Now there can be a very nice profit in homesteading. Selling stock, homemade products, tours, and produce are just some of the avenues.

You and your family are going to love the time you spend together doing this. From the smallest window box herb garden to the fifty head cattle herd, homesteading can bring you and yours closer together as it brings you closer to your food.

The objective of the homesteader may be raising their stock humanly, growing with permaculture or sustainability in mind, providing their family with food of the highest quality, running a small business from home, using their land to provide cash flow, or a myriad of other reasons. You have the freedom to determine what your "why" is. I'd love to hear your "why" in the comments section and what you're interested in.

Follow us on Facebook @FlatFootFarmandEnterprise to see what we are up to.

The most important objective is to have fun! Sure, there's work involved but this will be fun if your doing what interests you and the rewards are awesome.

Bottom line is:
It's your life. It's your land. Let's make something of it.

Sort:  

Sean, this was just great! I'm sure you'll be a hit on Steemit with this.
What I found particularly neat was learning the difference between farming and homesteading. I never really understood there were huge differences, since I grew up in Suburbia. I imagine your future posts will really provide helpful ideas for me too, as a noob to gardening. :) Glad to have you, Sean!

Thanks, @dragonanarchist! It's very nice of you to say.

Very nice post. My wife and I are about to start some homesteading on a small piece of property we have in Pennsylvania. I believe we need to have more self-sufficiency and a bit more control over our food. I look forward to your future posts about your experiences.

Pdogg147,
That's exciting news! We all have our reasons for doing this. Never let go of your "why". Write it down and put it on the wall to remind yourself of it.

Do you know what sort of animals you'd be raising there in PA?

Awesome! You have turned what is a dream to many of us into a reality. Not on a reality but a profitable business! What kind of plans do you use for sustainability in regards to permaculture?

Thanks, Nick! My business mainly focuses around selling stock for the table. We use rotational grazing for our feeder hogs.

Alaska's growing season is very, very short (only 4 months if you have a greenhouse) but we have very few toxic native plants.

Soon I'll do a post about pasture raise hogs on a combination of wild and planted plants.

Thanks for the questions!

Alaskan anarchist here, though I'm in Juneau which is one of the most frustrating spots here for that mindset :/

Greenmanalishi,
I bet! Lol
It can be frustrating just about anywhere if you let people bug you.
Thanks for the comments!

Excellent ideas here. If things fall in place for me, I may be starting an operation like this in Central America with my partners down there. If you follow me, you can keep up with my many projects, maybe offer some tips or advice.

Great post though. You got a new follower.

Awesome idea! I appreciate you adding me and I'll certainly reciprocate.

I would like that very much. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50