Simple DIY Night Light

in #diy7 years ago (edited)

A little gift for my son.

20151120_150434.jpg

My son has always enjoyed falling asleep with some form of dull light, as most children do. I had several styles of night lights given to us by other family members, however I felt it would be nice to have something he can take from home if away. Example: Camping, sleeping at a relatives house, over night hospital stays. Sometimes it's nice for children to have something from home for comfort.

I made different ones for everyone in my family, I will show you one of the additional creations after.

Supplies, please keep in mind when DIY'ing/ crafting NEVER do exactly as shown/described. It just doesn't have your style captured within.

Supplies: 1 Mason Jar with lid I used 1 Liter jars with wide mouthed openings, I will explain later
2 Double A Batteries
1 L.E.D. battery operated light strand purchased at the dollar store
1 Package of paint pens purchased at Walmart
1 Hot glue gun with glue sticks
Decorative stickers or additional craft add-on's

DSCF1162.JPG

Please note that the reasoning for the wide mouthed jars you can slip your hand in easily, to reach the battery pack. You are also able to fasten them to the outside, while keeping the light strand within the jar. You just create a small V cut into the lid to run the wire out, and hot glue the battery pack on the outside for easy access. Be very careful the lid can be quite sharp once cut

DSCF1163.JPG

With my sons version, I printed out a picture of his favorite Ninja Turtle. You can see that I hand drew the character on by hand with paint pens. I'm sure it would be easy enough to cut out what you're drawing and securing it to the inside. Making your drawing easier to trace.

20151120_151253.jpg

I made matching ones for the outside of my family cabin, just a very dim light to enjoy the outdoors. Great solution for bed time readers. These are also helpful if going camping, no lanterns required. However they are glass, so do be careful do not give them to young children to walk around with. They can also be fun at Halloween, fill your jar with spiders and lights.

DSCF1160.JPG

Hope this was enjoyable for you DIY crafters out there.

Thanks for reading,

Sapphire Vixen XOX

Sort:  

Great idea.. going to try this one day for my daughter.

This is really cute! I think my little brother would love one of these so I might have to make one! Thanks for sharing (:

Thanks, they're really fun to make. Just let your mind take you, a really fun one would be pokemon. that might be my next adventure. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40