Making Bath Bombs!

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

Today was odd. It was about 70 degrees when I woke up this morning and by 11:00 AM it was 40 degrees with strong winds and rain. The weather in the Midwest is often strange! I had the day off work today so I decided to make some bath bombs! I know there are hundreds of recipes for bath bombs out there, tutorials, etc.... but I wanted to make a post about how I have been making them for a few years now. These bath bombs are going to make amazing gifts for some of my friends back home :)

20180220_131725.jpg

The green bath bombs are lime and coconut (smell amazing) and the purple bombs are lavender, clary sage, and rosemary (also smell amazing).

20180220_132053.jpg
Here I have the baking soda and citric acid whisked together in the large bowl on the left and the Epsom salts in the smaller bowl to the right

The recipe:
1 cup baking soda
1/2 cup citric acid
1/2 cup Epsom salts (plus a little extra, about 1/8 of a cup)
1 teaspoon water
2 teaspoons essential oil or fragrance
3 teaspoons olive oil (or any carrier oil of your choosing)
food coloring (optional)

One of the things that I do differently than most recipes is separate my Epsom salts from the other dry ingredients. In most recipes for bath bombs, you are instructed to mix ALL of the dry ingredients, then in a jar, combine the water, oils, food coloring and add slowly to the dry mixture. You have to add it slowly when you do this, because the wet mixture can activate the citric acid and baking soda and cause it to start fizzing prematurely. NOT MY WAY!!!

20180220_123238.jpg
I add all of the wet ingredients to the Epsom salts and whisk together until fully combined. I do like to add a little extra Epsom salt because the wet ingredients cause some of it to dissolve.

20180220_123429(0).jpg
Go home violet... you're drunk!

Then I dump the entire Epsom salt mixture into the baking soda and citric acid mixture. For some reason, doing it this way does not cause a reaction. Then whisk whisk whisk until fully combined. The texture should be like damp sand - not too wet, but sticking together when squeezed gently in your hand. Like so:

20180220_124059.jpg
I was really excited when that weird blue color was actually turning purple. Violet can be one of the hardest colors to mix. I tried to mix blue and red food coloring before and it kept turning into some weird gray color... I bought this violet on amazon.

The next step is to load them into your molds. I use a set of stainless steel molds 2.16 inches in diameter. Here is a link to where I got mine on amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00Y03H6O6/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I really like these molds myself, but you can use any type of mold you like.
You want to pack it in lightly and overfill each dome pressing down gently as you do.

20180220_132003.jpg

Then start pushing each side together smooooooshing it all the way. I sometimes have to turn mine back and forth to get the excess mixture off to where the two sides meet.

20180220_131919.jpg
I also use two hands... but I needed one to take the picture

After the bath bomb has been compressed, take a spoon and tap each side. You will notice a difference in the sound of the tapping once the bath bomb is released from the mold. Then just pull it apart gently and the bomb should pop out quite easily.

20180220_131824.jpg

Then just set aside to dry completely usually 4-6 hours. My 2.16 inch diameter mold can make about 6 bath bombs. I actually only got 5 of the lavender/clary sage/rosemary ones because I made a little mess and dropped a bunch on the floor... But I was able to make you a video with the remaining mixture I just hand pressed together tightly.

The water was just slightly tinted - no staining the skin - and my hands are super soft after making these! I really wanted to put some dried lavender in the ends of the lavender bath bombs, but mine is packed away in some box buried and I couldn't get it out today. Thank you so much for checking out my bath bombs!!!

Sort:  

This looks like fun! I used my first bath bomb last week that I got in a subscription box and it was amazing! Now I can make my own (as soon as I buy the ingredients and molds, haha)!

It is a lot of fun! And nice for a relaxing soak in the bath. Thank you for checking out my tutorial!

Congratulations. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot Curation post.
https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-62

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Awesome! I accept. Thank you!

This is a great tutorial! The girls and I have never made bath bombs, just shower bombs. I'm going to use your recipe though and get some made for Maddy (she's the only one that soaks in baths.) I like that the coloring didn't stain your skin. Good to know! And I take it the oil doesn't make the tub slick? I guess it would if you used too much. I have all these ingredients, even some molds I haven't used yet! Thanks for the inspiration, beautiful! Love to you!

It does make the tub a little slick. I usually keep a sponge on my tub and rinse it out after my bath. And thanks! I spent quite a bit of time taking photos and typing it out... going back and fixing typos... haha. My favorite photo is the "go home violet you're drunk". It did NOT look purple!! Love you too! Miss you bunches!

Miss you too!! Hope we get to see you guys again soon!
I'll make sure to tell Maddy that the tub might be a little slick after using these. I can't wait to make some!

Great recipe! I was wondering how you would mold them into shape. It almost looked like one of those tea holders that you drop into your hot water. Maybe that would work as well!

The first ones i ever made, I pressed into soap molds. I just find the stainless steel mold a lot easier. A tea infuser might work... never know until you try i guess!

Haha!!! “Go home violet, you’re drunk!” I love it! This is a really cool tutorial. I’ll have to add this to the list of things to make with the girlies :)

It is really easy and with fairly inexpensive ingredients usually already found at home. I got that big bag of citric acid on amazon. I was buying it at walmart in the canning section but not much comes in those little containers!

Yeah apparently amazon is the way to go for Citric acid. People come into the pharmacy asking for it all the time. That’s the only ingredient I don’t have on hand. Heather gave us a some shower bombs for Christmas and they didn’t last long so I think we definitely need to whip up some of these bad boys!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50