Brake Break

in #diy5 years ago

Taking a break on the brakes. I keep telling myself it's a hobby, or that I'm doing my part to keep the GDP low and save money by doing the repairs myself. I have the aptitude for replacing the parts, but my skills at diagnostics still needs work. Perhaps it's because I never went to mechanics school or never had a dad or uncle who was always fixing cars in the backyard but learning why things aren't working is the challenge. Not saying I'm not improving this skill, but it is an uphill battle whenever my frustration begins to outweigh my knowledge.

Why did the company send me two calipers with different sized bleeder valves? Did I accidentally blow the seals in the master cylinder while bleeding the brake lines? How could I easy deduce that I have or have not without replacing the master cylinder? Should I have actually paid a professional?

It's not a short in the wire, because there are no wires. I can't finish bleeding the lines because the different sized bleeder valves are too small for my handy fuel line that runs into a trademarked sports drink bottle. I have a spare master cylinder, but is the labor required to pull the old one out of my donor car worth the cost of a new one that I know has good seals?

If knowledge is power, questions are the fuel for the engine, and coffee is the coolant for the pistons firing rapidly in my brain.

Sort:  

I wish I could help you! I am pretty dumb when it comes to stuff like this though. That is why I have a buddy that is pretty good at this stuff. He comes in handy from time to time so I keep him around!. I just replaced the front brakes on my old truck this Winter, but I think it was a newer model than what this appears to be :) Good luck!

That's a lot of questions. I wish I had the answer for them myself. Sure saves a lot of money doing the work yourself - unless you make things worse and then pay someone to fix your mistakes as well as the original issue :S

Posted using Partiko Android

you know your state of consciousness always value more than any thing in any situation. in most situation, knowledge become power if only remained in state of your full consciousness. otherwise what is the value if your heart does not recognized what is already seen by your naked eyes???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55