Sort:  

Btw you should try nanoBSD on FreeBSD or Linux from scratch on a device without a monitor. Installing with only serial is a tough one.

I did Linux from Scratch about ten years ago. I learned a ton. I actually did a few more installs here and there of it. It really helped me to understand the boot process and getting different devices to work.

I've never been in a position where a system only had serial as an option. I've used it to capture kernel output, but not really interactively.

As for BSD, I like the GNU flavor shell utilities, the BSD ones have weird flags. Maybe I'll try out the Debian flavored BSD...

Haha what ever floats your boat.
You can install the gnu shell utilities on BSD if you want to. Glad to hear that you tried Linux from scratch. Btw you can also check this subreddit: /r/selfhosted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46