Motorhome Desk Build :: DIY Part 1

in #diy6 years ago

Since part of my profile page says I am a DIYer, I think I'm obligated to post a DIY project every now and again so I don't look like a complete liar.

Here's a project I'm working on for my Landwhale (motorhome): a desk.

One of my dreams has been to travel (and not be tied to a desk in my house) and still have the option to work conveniently. As a web developer, this means ideally I'd have a legit computer setup on a desk. As a writer, this would be awesome too.

So, I set out to build a big desk for my little motorhome. One of the rules is that we wanted it to be removable.


We start off with a big slab of 3/4" birch plywood. I measure it for about a 28" depth by about a 60" width (the max amount that will fit in my motorhome space)>



Cutting the plywood by hand, it ended up being fairly straight. I do have a table saw, but running a sheet of plywood through a table saw by yourself is not a fun job.



Two pieces! I'll save the other half of the plywood in case I completely screw this one up.



Now I want to add some nice thick edging. This will make it look nice as well as give it some rigidity so it doesn't bow in the middle over time with a computer on it. Or my fat cats.



Edging done! I miter cut some 1x2" pine and nailed that into the plywood, and then wood-glued it all around on the underneath/inside. Then I filled in the tiny gaps where the edging meets the plywood using wood putty.



Wood putty sanded off! I then apply some wood conditioner to make the wood more receptive to the dark stain that will soon be applied.



Two coats of stain applied! I still have one more coat to apply, then will put some gloss polyurethane over the top. Oddly, the plywood stained slightly lighter on the left side. Not sure why. The wood conditioner was slightly lighter there too. Oh well.


There will be a Part 2 coming soon enough. I'm heading back to Wisconsin (from Florida) for the summer soon, probably in a month, so I'd like to have it installed by then.




Photos by @negativer.

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

Fantastic DIY... Good job, Neg!

Now you've got me hanging for Part ][ .... Give us details!

"I miter cut some 1x2" pine..."

You miter used alder or oak instead? ;P

I take it the desk is 28" deep, plus the combined thickness of the 1x2s? Or is it 28" with them?
How much does it weigh?
Birch ply - great choice!
How will it mount/unmount?

I have a huge, dream project in mind, one that might bring me to the east coast for a while... I want to build a never-before-seen class of RV for my wife and I to travel and live in for some while...

In my project, weight reduction will be a touchstone.


@creatr

Hanging for Part 2 is what I hope my desk will be doing; and hanging long after.

I could have used alder or oak for the edging; you are right. More of a cost cutting measure, I think, than anything else. Lumber down in FL is so expensive!

The desk is 28" deep with the 1x2s. Good question on the weight! I still have to affix a leg to it and a bit of mounting hardware and then I'll throw it on my scale. The weight issue is not huge for me; we actually removed the entire 'dining table and bench seating' that was in the RV last year (leaving us with a huge open space), so unless I made the desk from a slab of concrete we're already on the plus side. That said...shedding pounds in an RV is NEVER a bad idea :)

The mounting, in theory, is going to be via french cleats. I'll have a strip of cleat along the back and the right side. The left side (which is right behind the passenger seat and thus has nowhere to affix), will be via a swing-down leg that will be mounted to the underside of the corner of the table and will be able to fold down much like a banquet table leg.

I'd love to see your plans for an RV. Somehow I think it would be both unique and amazing.

Thanks so much for your support, @creatr!

Cool, cool, COOL!

Thanks for satisfying my curiosity... :D

"...both unique and amazing."

Yeah, otherwise, why bother? ;)

It's only waiting for the next confluence of important things... including some order-of-magnitude value jumps in BTC and Steem... :D

I will of course be sharing the story on Steemit, probably starting with just the dream... when I get a Round 'Tuit... :D

This is awesome neg... Anka and I are of the same train of thought... we want to not be tied down to a physical location. Do share more pictures

Thanks! Once I get it installed in the RV I'll grab some final pics.

I just love the idea of having a computer hooked up with wifi always available (via my phone's hotspot if nothing else) and just being able to travel around. Then stop somewhere, grab some food, then sit in front of the computer a bit and check crypto prices and do some trading, maybe some steemit action, then roll out to the next destination.

We spend all our lives looking at the same thing and doing the same thing...when there are so many other things in the world to see and do. I'll go by RV, you and Anka can go by boat. Let's meet up in California or Brazil or something :)

that is why this whole crypto idea has me all motivated.. because it opens those possibilities for us.

When visiting Brazil, take SmartCash... ;)

That’s beautiful! I’m so inspired. That’s it, I’m running right out to buy my own landwhale. Are you now in the mobile writer’s desk building business? If so, can I be one of your first customers?

Well, let's see if the dang thing can survive a 1500 mile journey first without dumping cats and computers all over the floor. Then I'll hang out my shingle. :)

This was fun. Hoping for more posts like these and some shots of the motor home too! I couldn't be more jealous really. 😊

Installation post to come, followed by at least one travel post afterwards :) Thanks!

Looking good, Negativer. Love the dark stain:)

Thanks! In theory it should match the vinyl floor I put down in the RV last summer, but won't really know until I have everything installed to know how far astray I am.

You could always restain it if its too off or get some small accent piece that marry the two colors:)

Or a tablecloth. :)

Haha .. yes and maybe some doilies:)

looks nice, I painted a table of mine. Simple white paint. Yours looks better.

I was actually going to paint it white, but I figured I'd try the stain first. I can always paint over it if it looked bad :)

Motorhome huh? Post more about that! Good job making desk happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66