DIY Soap

in #diy7 years ago

Hi guys!

Another DIY for you. This time I wanted to create my own soap. But the lazy woman I am, I didn't want to make soap from scratch lol. So! What I bought some base soap and edited my own little things to it. Very simple, but fun to do! 

This is what you need:


-Base soap. I used a triple base soap which contains; Shea Butter, Cacoa Butter and Mango Butter.
-Some skin friendly fragrance oil
-Oatmeal
-A silicone shape

First you want to grind your oatmeal so that it doesn't contain very big pieces anymore. But not too long because you don't want to have very small grains. Why oatmeal? Because I like the texture it has and it's good for your skin as well. One of the perks is that oatmeal relieves skin itching and irritation!



Next you want to make sure everything is ready when your soap is hot and ready to be poured in your shape.



I cut my soap in small blocks because that is easier to warm up.



How to make your soap liquid? There are several ways but I did it the au bain marie way. Get a pan and put it on the stove with some water in it. Put a bowl in the pan but make sure it doesn't hit the water! Put your blocks of soap in it and keep stirring!











When liquid you can add the oil to your soap. It's really personal how much you want to add. I don't really like if it's too strong so I did 15 drops of Honey and Milk fragrance oil in it. You can add more or less, whatever you like! After I added the oil, I added the oatmeal. Don't forget to keep stirring the soap though! When everything is mixed together you have one thing left to do. Pour the liquid soap in your silicone shapes.



I made 2 batches. One batch ended in the fridge and one air dried. The one I air dried was so much prettier. The oatmeal sunk to the bottom so I had a layered soap bar. Which I thought made it a bit more special.



This was just for fun and I'm no expert at making soap so I'm sorry if it's not the best way to do but I had fun making it and wanted to share with you!

I hope you liked this DIY! Thanks for reading.

Love,

Nathalie


Sort:  

Congratulations @nathalie22! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56