DIY Dino Mountain Mural

in #diy7 years ago

DIY MOUNTAIN DINO MURAL 

Hi all,

A few weeks ago I made a mural for my sons bedroom and it was, well IS, a HUGE succes! I had never drawn or painted something like this before so when I say you can do it, you really can! ;-) It all started with an idea I had in my head (duh ;-) ). So I googled some stuff, found some awesome mountain murals and tried to make it in photoshop with some dinosaurs on it. I LOVED it but had never guessed it would be such a succes.

Let's just begin with the first thing you need. 

PAINT! 

-Choose 5 colors. I chose 4 different shades of blue and one really light pinkish color.

- Different size of brushes, small ones for the lines, really small ones for the dinosaurs and the trees. Bigger ones for filling in the mountains.

-Wooden pencil for drawing the lines on the wall.

-Glow in the dark stars and a moon.

 


You want to draw the mountains with a pencil so you have a guideline for your colors. After you're done with that you will start with the darkest color on the bottom. (That's what I did at least.)


I painted the lines before filling them in. You want to do that with every color.

 

 

 


 


I chose a pinkish color for the air, because I wanted to create a kind of sunset color. When all colors are aplied and DRY! You can start drawing your dinosaurs on the mountains. I didn't had any projector but if you have one, USE IT! It is sooo much easier. I picked some images from google for an example so I could draw it on my wall with a pencil just like I did with the mountains. 



Here you can see the start of the t-rex I did. It takes a little bit of time to paint the small lines but it's definitely worth it :) ! 

 
Make sure to take lots of pictures while painting it and send those to me! I would love to see your creations :)




I thought 3 dinosaurs were enough but if you feel like adding more, you should! 

Made a small tipi for my adventurous boys.

 

And this is the final product. I added a few trees, different sizes. I also added a little bon fire because I thought that would be amazing with the tipi. If you want, you can add some glow in the dark stars and a moon like I did. Not digging it? just leave it out! 

I hope you liked my DIY mountain dinosaur mural and be sure to send me your finished wall! 




Sort:  

Congratulations @nathalie22! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Excellent

Sorry for the late reply! Nice to hear you love it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77