DIY Peppermint Tea Tree Oil Toothpaste

in #diy7 years ago (edited)

20170716_194635.jpg

Last week, I made a batch of peppermint/tea tree oil toothpaste. I make my own toothpaste to avoid fluoride, artificial flavors and sweeteners, as well as dyes, preservatives and unnecessary additives. Making my own health and beauty products gives me the opportunity to be creative and control the ingredients.

I use a simple base recipe of coconut oil, baking soda and bentonite clay, and then I experiment with different oils to flavor my toothpaste.

Getting started:
20170716_191013.jpg

Ingredients-
Coconut oil-1/3 cup
Baking soda-1 tablespoon
Bentonite clay-1 tablespoon
Peppermint oil-5 drops
Tea Tree oil-5 drops
Stevia (optional sweetener)

Supplies-
Glass bowl
Wooden spoon
Measuring utensils
Small container to store toothpaste

20170716_191835.jpg

First step:
In a glass bowl combine coconut oil, baking soda and clay. Mix thoroughly. (use wooden spoon to mix, metal will deactivate clay)

20170716_193806.jpg

Second step:
Add peppermint and tea tree oils and mix. (if you are used to using store bought toothpaste that contain a lot of sweetener you can add stevia to sweeten toothpaste to preferred taste) Also this is the fun step, get creative!

Other suggestions for flavors- sweet orange oil, cinnamon, lemon oil, clove or spearmint.

20170716_194148.jpg

Third step:
Put toothpaste in small airtight container for storage.

20170716_194635.jpg

I make small batches of toothpaste so that it stays fresh. This recipe keeps my teeth bright white, (and I drink a lot of coffee!), and my mouth fresh and healthy without harmful ingredients.

20170717_085340.jpg

I chose these ingredients because they are known to support dental and oral health.

Coconut oil contains lauric acid that can kill harmful bacteria that causes bad breath, tooth decay and gum disease. Baking soda removes surface stains by polishing teeth, and can remove plaque. Bentonite clay has anti-bacterial properties and trace minerals to support oral health. Peppermint oil has antiseptic properties and helps fight bad breath. Tea tree oil can help prevent plaque, bad breath, gum disease and relieve tooth pain.

I hope you enjoyed my toothpaste 101 tutorial! If you have any questions or good toothpaste ideas please let me know!

Resources:
https://bodyunburdened.com/top-5-essential-oils-healthy-teeth-and-gums/

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2015/04/25/coconut-oil-toothpaste.aspx

Sort:  

I don't think I'm ready to make my own toothpaste but I did enjoy learning what you use to make your own. I do use a more natural product than the major brand. One that contains tea tree oil too. Maybe some day I'll go to the effort of making my own tooth paste...you never know :)

I use to buy the natural too! But it's so easy to make your own and so much cheaper! You should make your own and blog! ;)

Great set of instruction for a DIY to better health! Sharing to others to see and follow!

Thank you for the support! Finding easy healthier swaps for store bought products is one of my favorite things to do!

This is exactly what I was looking for. Commercial toothpaste makes me feel sick. Thanks

Great! I love it, I hope you do too!

I've tried making toothpaste once with orange oil, but didn't use it (bad taste).
Also careful with baking soda amount as it can remove/damage teeth enamel. I know someone who had to treat their teeth after ruining them with homemade toothpaste (I'm sure it didn't happen right away tho).
:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86