You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DIY Ball Winder For Yarn

in #diy5 years ago

Great idea! But be careful with the tension - if there is too much 'pull' on the yarn when it's on a ball it can shrink after being knitted or crocheted. I was told not to keep it too long in a ball or even in a cake. That's why the usual ball winders (and the nostepinne I shows recently) are for being pulled out of the ball/cake. That relaxes the yarn (and you can pull from the inside which is much more easier to handle).

Sort:  

You’re right @muscata. Perhaps one can loop it around something on the wayto the spool to ease tension. Weavers use the drill trick, but they don’t have the same tension concerns that knitters and crocheters do.

Thanks for the helpful hint @muscara. I was guiding the yarn as I put it on the tube and the rod, but I will definitely check the tension. I didn’t think of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73