DIY Cardboard Projector - I watched snooker finals like a king!

in #diy7 years ago

Some 4-5 years ago I bought a portable dvd player, and couple of months ago it didn't play any dvd at all... I tried fixing it but nothing.. The small monitor was still working, I could watch movies through USB and it had some video IN-OUT jacks.. I really didn't know what to do with it but wasn't ready throwing it away.   

It was boring rainy Sunday and I saw some diy projects on the internet and I thought maybe I could try something out from my old dvd player, beside, there's nothing I can lose. I started carefully DVD dismantling, found I big light bulb in our storage and some cardboard. I didn't have precise idea how I’m going to do it, but was very excited about my project. First I made a body out of a cardboard and started slowly to fit parts inside. So, there you can see: 

1. Battery,
2. DVD Board and
3. DVD Monitor  

This was great because I could charge the battery and place it where I want. 

At the back side I forced a big halogen bulb because they do not create heat as other / ordinary ones does. I’ve isolated it in order to reflect light toward dvd monitor. 


From this side you can see that I had to do an extension in order to add a bulb on it. 

At the left I attached dvd Board where I can control everything easily,  

1. Battery charger,
2. Usb,
3. Audio Video Outputs    

And at the end I needed something in order to adjust the focus, and there I had to make another cardboard box which will be able to move forward – backward. I believe this was one of most important part because I simply wasn’t able to watch clearly, I had to move the projector backward or forward to find the perfect picture clarity.

I was very happy when I saw the result, even during the day it wasn’t really visible but who cares, I would never believe I can achieve this kind of result.  

One of its weakness was that it was quite big and light weight so I couldn’t find a place to keep it. One day I saw it has fallen down to ground and everything was detached, and monitor probably was broke since it showed only a blue screen with some flickering stripes.  

Nevertheless, it was great experience and most probably I am going to make another one soon I hope, smaller, using another kind of material apart cardboard, and for this I would really need your support by voting my post.

 P.s.
You can see elsewhere some DIY mini projectors using only a phone and a shoe box – this simply do not work and there’s no ways they would ever work using only a box and a phone.      

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10