How using essential oils has changed my life forever

in #diy8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever tried using essential oils? Their popularity is on the rise, and it ain't slowing down anytime soon.

Remember about a year ago when it seemed that everyone and their mother had discovered coconut oil despite the fact that it has existed for a million years? Well I believe that's what is happening now with essential oils- and for good reason. Essential oils, once known as "aromatic oils" have been around for centuries, spanning so many cultures that it is virtually unknown just when they came to fruition.

In modern times, they are used just as they were centuries ago- to ease all sorts of bodily ailments, internal and external. For mood enhancers and stress relievers. As perfumes and beauty treatments (for skin and hair.) For protection against insects, protection against germs and countless other reasons. For those who lean towards a more natural solution to things, rather than the often times toxin-riddled ingredients of modern products, essential oils will become your new best friend. Your magical kit full of green-friendly solutions for just about everything under the sun.

I was personally intrigued by the idea of oils when I was at my wits end trying to find a sleep aid that wouldn't cause to be become hooked for life on a chemical that would eventually do me more harm than good. The usual suspects in my sleep aid arsenal were a bottle of wine and a couple OTC sleeping pills. I had been prescribed Xanax in the past for sleep as well, but the over the counter stuff hits so much harder for some reason. Anyway, I was given some sample oils from a friend and that's when I met Lavender. Lavender oil has such a beautiful, calming fragrance that is overwhelmingly noticeable to your emotions. With this oil, I was immediately relaxed and so much more at peace with myself than anything I could buy in a pharmacy. Since this discovery, I have replaced practically my entire medicine cabinet with oils.

The other main issue I struggle with on a daily basis is my anxiety/depression. Though I take prescribed medication, it's my oils I reach for on the brink of an anxiety attack. I'm practically in a committed relationship with my Frankinsense (I call him "King frank" as Frankinsense is considered the king of oils. Don't judge me.) as this oil does more for me than any other by far. Not only does it keep me calm and centered, it's done wonders for my acne scars. Pretty damn versatile, am I right? Here are a few other examples in which essential oils are used in my house.

-I use peppermint for headaches (which I get frequently)
-lavender for sleep

  • wild orange as a mood enhancer/perfume (it smells like what I imagine heaven smells like)
  • a blend of grapefruit and cinnamon bark for weight loss
    -cypress and geranium for acne
    -fennel for upset stomach

So on and ao forth. You can even use them for cooking! I plan to experiment quite a bit with my oregano and dill oils in future blogs. Stay tuned as well for recipes for hair and skin treatments!

Thanks for reading, XOXO Heather

Sort:  

How does one use these essential oils? Do you have to mix or dilute them? I have lavender and thieves oil, but I'm kinda new to this. They sure smell good though. Thanks for the article!

With lavender you don't need to dilute unless you want to extend the use. Lavender is great for the skin, One of my favorite uses for it to ease itchiness and irritation. I can't say that I'm familiar with thieves oil, however. May I ask what. Rand you're using?

Thieves oil is a proprietary (brand name) blend of lemon, clove, eucalyptus, cinnamon and rosemary marketed as a germ fighter. I bought the generic version from Plant Therapy. I have the Now brand lavender oil.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61555.74
ETH 2980.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51